New Roval Rapide CLX II

Wheels, Tires, Tubes, Tubeless, Tubs, Spokes, Hookless, Hubs, and more!

Moderator: robbosmans

Forum rules
The spirit of this board is to compile and organize wheels and tires related discussions.

If a new wheel tech is released, (say for example, TPU tubes, a brand new tire, or a new rim standard), feel free to start the discussion in the popular "Road". Your topic will eventually be moved here!
JG220

by JG220

I've just ordered an Sworks Tarmac build at my LBS. Its a component build rather than a pre built bike.

Should i ask them to wait for CLX II which is now tubeless compatible before I take delivery?

I guess thoughts are:
-New wheels are probably even more money and i'm pretty much at my max
-I don't really mind running tubes as don't often suffer with puntures but i've never used Turbo Cottons before
-I'd like the bike as soon as possilbe, well be because 'new and shiny'
-The new wheels might be 100g heavier?

hannawald

by hannawald

No one can tell you what you should want:) you want it immediately, original version is completely ok for you, 100g is quite a lot but something in you wants the latest. Maybe buy completely different wheelset:)

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Aesch

by Aesch

Read the full roval wheels topic 😬

I'd go for the gen 1 version if I could choose.

JG220

by JG220

sorry, did search for the topic and didn't spot it...

Mocs123

by Mocs123

Apparantly there are a lot of people running the current CLX's tubeless and they work fine. It makes you question what the 100g extra is?
2015 Wilier Zero.7 Rim - 6.37kg
2020 Trek Emonda SLR-7 Disc - 6.86kg
2023 Specialized SL7 - 7.18kg

hannawald

by hannawald