front radial lace need dishing?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

bratz

by bratz

Newbie here trying to learn wheel building...I could borrow a truing stand but no dishing tool. Building a front wheel radial lace. So the question is does front radial need to be dished? If it does, i think im better off sending the wheel to a build.

Thanks in advance

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

LouisN

by LouisN

The hub certainly has to be centered, front or rear.
So I guess you can try without using a dish tool. You can use a straight object, put it on the rim brake surface, and measure the distance between the object and the hub. It has to be the same both sides.

Louis :)

bikerjulio

by bikerjulio

Front is symmetric.

Through many wheel builds, I've never used a dishing tool.

I have Park's cheap stand with the single guage.

Guess what? Throughout the build i flip the wheel in the stand and adjust as necessary. Working my way to perfection. :D

More accurate IMO too.
There's sometimes a buggy.
How many drivers does a buggy have?

One.

So let's just say I'm drivin' this buggy...
and if you fix your attitude you can ride along with me.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GekiIMh4ZkM

NovemberDave

by NovemberDave

bikerjulio wrote:Front is symmetric.

Through many wheel builds, I've never used a dishing tool.

I have Park's cheap stand with the single guage.

Guess what? Throughout the build i flip the wheel in the stand and adjust as necessary. Working my way to perfection. :D

More accurate IMO too.

Same here, except I have fancy Park stands, and take the left gauge arm out. The gauge arms are near impossible to keep centered and the dishing tools are a pain in the butt. The flip works flawlessly.

bratz

by bratz