Hi All

Who are you (no off-topic talk please)

Moderators: MrCurrieinahurry, maxim809, Moderator Team

BenjaminHuffy

by BenjaminHuffy

I can't remember when I joined this forum, but I was looking at stuff on my desktop computer and saw I was a member so thought I would make a post. I have been riding bicycles of one sort or another since the early 1960s. I probably have a dozen bikes, all older steel ones, some lighter, some heavier. I am what some call a "clydesdale" class rider, tall and heavier but in pretty good shape. It is cold and snowy in the winter where I live, average snowfall 100 inches per year, but the last few years that amount has dramatically decreased. I don't do much riding if it is below freezing, the summer does not bother me so far. I have had cardiac problems just about my entire life which is a bummer, right now I have a leaky heart-valve I ride with but it is getting worse and I probably have surgery at some time in the future. I try not to ride really hard, I keep it so I can at least talk in short sentences while riding. I got in a bit over 4000 miles last year and did not have a lot of trouble cruising along at 20mph on a road bike and for time-trial distances could go 21-22 often. I feel lucky just to be riding at all at this point, and I ride with a group of old retired guys often and we all feel lucky. I appreciate higher end bikes, I have a couple that are Reynolds 531 and Columbus tubing etc., but I ride lower end bikes too because I am not always climbing big hills or trying to set speed records, you don't have to have a high-end bike to train or exercise.
Huffy August 23.jpg

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

matcav

by matcav

Thanks for sharing it. All the best for your rides!

wheelbuilder

by wheelbuilder