Edge 2.0 road fork

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
coloclimber

by coloclimber

Last night I installed an Edge 2.0 road fork on my Cervelo and was just blown away by the ride quality on my usual 1 hour lunch ride climb.
The Edge 2.0 is 306 grams stripped and cut to ~20.5cm. No lawyer tabs (and I am an attorney) :lol:

I didnt notice a huge difference on the flats or the climb but the character of the bike really changed on the descent back down to Boulder. The bike with the new fork tracked very well and inspired confidence that has been lacking in the few months I have owned the bike and used a different fork. Having ridden quite a few different forks lately (on different bikes), I didnt think a fork would have such an influence on ride feel - but I was wrong.

There was only a 1mm change in rake and a slightly shorter fork but it, and the carbon layup/technique changed the handling a lot. I was coming off an Alpha Q GS30 and thought I really liked the fork but never got used to the way it handled on high speed sharp descents.

Now I have Edge rims and fork- what else can they come up with that I can put on my bike???
-Deacon Doctor Colorado Slim

by Weenie

J-Nice

by J-Nice

Edge are quietly putting out some nice products.

How did you like the stiffness while climbing? Any noticeable differences between the Edge and the Alpha Q?

How did it react to road buzz, bumps and potholes?

prendrefeu

by prendrefeu

Where did you pick up the fork?

coloclimber

by coloclimber

prendrefeu- A good friend from the forum.

J-Nice- I didnt really notice a difference in stiffness while climbing after only one ride but the frame is pretty stiff to begin with. I also had a new lighter stem on so it wasn't apples to apples.