Garmin 510 & 810 Power Drop

Questions about bike hire abroad and everything light bike related. No off-topic chat please

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
rheosibal
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: LA

by rheosibal

I was looking to upgrade from my used and abused Garmin 500 to either an 810 or a 510, but I keep reading and reading about the inconsistency of reading power. The author's claim it's from the actual garmin device and not their power meters (i.e. powertap, srm, quarq, etc.) and I believe Garmin has yet to fix it?

I'm just wondering who else has had this problem and if it has been solved. I was super stoked on upgrading, but now I'm thinking of getting an 800...

FIJIGabe
Posts: 1400
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:07 pm
Location: The Lone Star State

by FIJIGabe

I've never had this problem.
Madone 9 https://goo.gl/7UwZpV
Crockett https://goo.gl/f5PdCN
Madone 5 https://goo.gl/cMdyFo

Madone 4, Cobia. I own a lot of Treks.

Voye
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:12 pm

by Voye

They are signal jamming all other power meters so people buy their pedals...it's a conspiracy!

Haven't seen it yet on my P2M's and my 510.

aaric
Posts: 439
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 4:10 pm

by aaric

Its entirely possible the people that were complaining of power drops didn't change the data recording from smart recording to 1s, which will cause power dropouts, regardless of the garmin model.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post