edge 800 question

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
User avatar
tinchy
Posts: 905
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:53 pm

by tinchy

righty I recently got a garmin edge 800 with cadence and heartrate for a cheap price. Im planning on selling the cadence thing, however having just looked at it, its actually called a 'wireless speed and cadence sensor'. Up till now Ive just used the units gps to determine my speed - my question is whether if I installed the cadence/speed sensor, does this give a more accurate measurement of speed or is it not really necessary if Im not interested in cadence?

merci!

User avatar
flameboy
Posts: 319
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 12:26 pm
Location: Athens,Greece
Contact:

by flameboy

It's only useful for indoor training....

mrfish
Posts: 1618
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 12:49 pm
Location: Near Horgen, Switzerland

by mrfish

Disagree.

The speed and cadence sensor avoids dropouts in speed when you ride through trees, underpasses and other places where GPS doesn't work. The GPS and speed sensor work together so that the speed is calibrated automatically. Without the GSC10 my forest rides were frustrating.

nathanong87
Resident master of GIF
Posts: 3182
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 2:44 am
Contact:

by nathanong87

really depends if speed matters to you.

Image

User avatar
Calnago
Posts: 5788
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 9:14 pm

by Calnago

Mr. Fish is right, the GSC10 is the way to go. You can manually calibrate your wheel cirumference for a very accurate reading. My girlfriend rides without the sensor and when we're riding together her garmin sounds like it's getting mad at her with it's beeping whenever it loses it's signal, particularly in forested areas with a lot of tree canopy overhead. And it does it a lot, whereas mine with the speed/cadence sensor never does that. We'll be putting one on her bike soon and she probably doesn't really care, but she's not as picky as me.
Colnago C64 - The Naked Build; Colnago C60 - PR99; Trek Koppenberg - Where Emonda and Domane Meet;
Unlinked Builds (searchable): Colnago C59 - 5 Years Later; Trek Emonda SL Campagnolo SR; Special Colnago EPQ

yeagermeister
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 8:55 pm
Location: New Jersey

by yeagermeister

As others said its absolutely more accurate with the speed cadence sensor.

User avatar
prendrefeu
Posts: 8609
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 10:32 pm
Location: Los Feliz, Los Angeles, California
Contact:

by prendrefeu

...or

1) It is extra weight and, most of the time, unnecessary.
2) It negates the beauty of a GPS-based computer: you can easily move that one unit between bikes in a matter of seconds without having to move extra sensors nor buy additional sensors for each bike you own.

Either way, your choice.
Exp001 || Other projects in the works.

User avatar
sugarkane
in the industry
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 11:14 am
Location: SYD
Contact:

by sugarkane

+1
This is weight weenies after all..
I have a gc10, in a box some where...

User avatar
tinchy
Posts: 905
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:53 pm

by tinchy

yup, sold it!

User avatar
ave
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:15 pm
Location: Hungary

by ave

That's great that there're people who sell them on, so those who value it can buy it. ;)
If you have a power meter and thus a cadence reading from the power meter I'd say the GSC is not neccessary on a road bike.

Edo
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 3:11 pm

by Edo

I have an 800 and a powertap G3 but do not use the speed/cadence sensor. I have no issues with this configuration EXCEPT when I do indoor trainer rides and upload to Strava there is no data to be had.
Look 695SR
Basso Fast Cross
Felt DA

giro di lento
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 7:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

by giro di lento

I've always found it hard to get the GSC10 to reliably record speed (even when you manually set the circumference of the wheel) - so I just stick with GPS and record the cadence. I've had rides skewed by up to 30% by the speed sensor not reading correctly. For me they're too finicky and I'm more relaxed about the cadence being 100% accurate.
My cycling blog: http://girodilento.com/

timzcat
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:50 am

by timzcat

For anyone unaware. If you set the speed to auto on the Garmin 800 it will use GPS data in comparison with what it is seeing as a speed reading from the wheel with the GSC-10 and set tire circumference based on that. If you have a GSC-10 it will use it because it is more accurate then GPS data.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post