Sram 2012 Yaw? terrible shifting underload?

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
kulivontot
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 7:28 pm

by kulivontot

I don't know why SRAM didn't just take the same steel force front mech that everybody's been using since and just slap a red label on it. it's like they knew how to do it right years ago yet keep messing with it for the hell of it.

by Weenie


JensW
Posts: 763
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 9:41 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

by JensW

kulivontot wrote:I don't know why SRAM didn't just take the same steel force front mech that everybody's been using since and just slap a red label on it. it's like they knew how to do it right years ago yet keep messing with it for the hell of it.


they did sell a RED with steel cage

djwalker
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 7:35 pm

by djwalker

I checked my yaw derailleur alignment last night after the loud noise and jamming feeling while downshifting. It had been moved from being perfectly in line with the alignment marks on the cage to about 1/4" tail out. So, it was clear to me that the chain had actually hooked the cage somehow and twisted it outward. I replaced the yaw FD with my old Force one since I am concerned if whatever happened would happen again it might either ruin the derailleur or damage the mount. Besides this problem the yaw FD is also really finicky to align. The Force FD went on in minutes and works well enough.

MikeMiranda
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:07 pm

by MikeMiranda

djwalker wrote:I checked my yaw derailleur alignment last night after the loud noise and jamming feeling while downshifting. It had been moved from being perfectly in line with the alignment marks on the cage to about 1/4" tail out. So, it was clear to me that the chain had actually hooked the cage somehow and twisted it outward. I replaced the yaw FD with my old Force one since I am concerned if whatever happened would happen again it might either ruin the derailleur or damage the mount. Besides this problem the yaw FD is also really finicky to align. The Force FD went on in minutes and works well enough.



Out of curiosity did you torque it down?

djwalker
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 7:35 pm

by djwalker

Yes, it was torqued with a torque wrench to SRAM's spec. And the bolt was still tight when I took it off.

PoorCyclist
Posts: 414
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:26 am
Location: California's country side

by PoorCyclist

I do think the braze on clamp surface seemed a bit tiny and suspect MAYBE it can move after a while.

MikeMiranda
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:07 pm

by MikeMiranda

Mine hasn't moved a bit, I've checked the gap on mine a few times I torqued mine down to 7nm

PoorCyclist
Posts: 414
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:26 am
Location: California's country side

by PoorCyclist

MikeMiranda wrote:Mine hasn't moved a bit, I've checked the gap on mine a few times I torqued mine down to 7nm


Hmm I am using 5 nm on mine

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post