The Garmin Edge 500 Thread

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
robncircus
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:14 am
Location: Sunny Santa Monica, CA

by robncircus

I may get one of these for myself for xmas. Looks like they are going for about $250 plus another $60 for the HR strap. Although, there are some good deals on the 305 now that this is out....
Brewer McFadden says "Everyday should be the best day ever"

mieke@quarq
in the industry
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 9:44 pm

by mieke@quarq

ghisallo2003 wrote:Mieke,

Thank you for the images and info. Have you similar experience with the Specialized headunit? My very personal preference is for as small a unit as possible and I think that many are going to be interested in the way that ANT allows the use of different heads and bodies, so to speak.

As a separate point, it would be great if Polar would have ANT+ power as a line on some of their computers and watches.


We haven't actually gotten to test the Specialized Speedzone yet so I can't comment on it. Specialized has a number of our CinQos to test (and I suppose Powertap wheels as well) so hopefully they'll make it as easy as the Garmin 500 to operate. It will be the smallest ANT+ computer that we're aware of when it's released.

I doubt you'll see Polar with ANT+ anytime soon though it would be nice. Pure speculation, but it may have something to do with Garmin owning Dynastream, the company that makes the ANT+ modules and protocols.

by Weenie


semaj
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 3:31 am

by semaj

Can someone here comment on the interval functions of the Edge 500? I'm wondering if it is as easy to use as my current Powertap computer.

How do you start a new interval? How to stop it?

morxy
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:37 am

by morxy

mechanism wrote:why did they make it in passive white and blue, looks awful. Black my friends would have been so much better.


Exactly. You spend thousands on a black/red frame, carefully coordinate all the colours so the tyres, rims, seatpost, pedals, bars and bar tape all match. It looks perfect. Then what? You put a bright blue and white computer on the middle of your stem? Ouch. Can't do it :(

Why couldn't they just make a black one?! Any way to customize the colours? Disassemble it and paint the parts black and red? :)

User avatar
ras11
Posts: 859
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 9:11 pm
Location: SC, USA

by ras11

I've not researched my own question, but maybe someone knows off the top of their head if the 500 and 750 use the same stem mount?
:-) Toys-R-Us

_SJ_
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 6:39 pm

by _SJ_

morxy wrote: Why couldn't they just make a black one?!


They did a while ago, it's called Edge 705 :D

Bikey
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:39 pm

by Bikey

They use a diff mount, according to the description of the 500. It uses a 1/4 twist mount vs the 705s slide-on mount.

gazrichards
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 11:11 pm

by gazrichards

http://www.pocket-lint.com/news-gallery ... computer/1

the new mount
I think its ridicuolus to not use the same one as the 705. I was 100% certain I would get this for racing and use 705 for training. not so sure I will now as I will have to keep an ugly unused mount on the bike all the time.
Im sure many other ant+ powermeter users thought the same.
looks like its quarq qollector and bonty/specialized for racing then!

Bikey
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:39 pm

by Bikey

Thanks for posting those pics, nice to see that the 500 has 8 data fields. The mount looks better than the 705 mount (not hard to improve on).
Why not use the 500 for training and racing?
Also, the 500 looks like it has a rubber band mount (a great idea, IMO), so it should take about 10sec to install/remove the mount.

SFcyclist
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 6:05 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

by SFcyclist

Bikey wrote:Also, the 500 looks like it has a rubber band mount (a great idea, IMO), so it should take about 10sec to install/remove the mount.


Good eye! Glad I won't have to use the zipties.

Edit: Will any Ant+ HR strap work with the Edge 500? I have a really nice Polar HR soft strap and I would prefer to save the 60$ on a new one.

Bikey
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:39 pm

by Bikey

I'm sure any ANT+ HR strap would work. I used a Saris strap with my 705 when then 705 first came out.
I didn't think Polar made any ANT compatible stuff.

SFcyclist
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 6:05 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

by SFcyclist

Bikey wrote:I'm sure any ANT+ HR strap would work. I used a Saris strap with my 705 when then 705 first came out.
I didn't think Polar made any ANT compatible stuff.


:oops: Oops. I think I got the Polar WIND technology and ANT+ confused. Looks like I will have to get a new strap. Thanks for correcting me.

ParisCarbon
Posts: 985
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 5:39 am
Location: Winnipeg Canada

by ParisCarbon


merkyworks
Posts: 188
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 1:31 am

by merkyworks

Bikey wrote:I'm sure any ANT+ HR strap would work. I used a Saris strap with my 705 when then 705 first came out.
I didn't think Polar made any ANT compatible stuff.


you said it, any ANT+ HR strap will work with any ANT+ head unit

by Weenie


Bikey
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:39 pm

by Bikey

Thanks for posting the manual. It adds Temp as a data field, and also allows elevation correction for 10 waypoints, as opposed to just 1 in the 705 v3.10. Everything else looks pretty familiar to using the 705. Hopefully it works as the 705 has been lately (no data drops).

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post