New SRM cranks...

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Paul_nl
Posts: 465
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

by Paul_nl

Seen in the tour. New SRM cranks.

Cannondale Hollowgram SI cranks with SRM
DA 10speed with SRM.

See: http://www.velonews.com/tour2004/tech/a ... 461.0.html


Image

by Weenie


Joel
Posts: 751
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2003 1:43 pm
Location: Belgium

by Joel

Bigger Q-factor :( but good pics

danielgillett

by danielgillett

Excellent! I am guessing SRM now have a way of attaching regular crank arms onto their unit.

Image
As you can see in the picture, Saeco's also got a telemetry unit inside a saddle bag...Also the power control unit on the handlebar.

The velonews.com document says that you can view the data online - I've had a look but couldn't find it. Does anyone know where it is?

User avatar
Florian
Site Admin
Posts: 891
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 2:45 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

by Florian

danielgillett wrote:The velonews.com document says that you can view the data online - I've had a look but couldn't find it. Does anyone know where it is?

http://2peak.com/tools/alpe.php

Moved thread to Training forum
Image Image

User avatar
Bruiser
Posts: 1386
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2002 1:59 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

by Bruiser

Shouldn't the Q factor vary per rider?

The cranks look great, but their way out of my price range.

Geoff
Posts: 5097
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:25 am
Location: Canada

by Geoff

I am guessing SRM now have a way of attaching regular crank arms onto their unit.
Sort of. The SRM unit for new Dura-Ace and the Hollowgram was designed for the one-piece bottombracket and drive-side cranks.

Uli can add a powermeter to a customer-supplied crank and bottom bracket for the same cost as a new powermeter (or you can purchase a new Shimano or Hollowgram powermeter with BB for an additional 500 Euros over the cost of an SRM professional). The estimated delivery time is 6 weeks. This is a better picture of the crank at Uli's place:
Attachments
SRM Dura-Ace.jpg

Paul_nl
Posts: 465
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

by Paul_nl

Geoff wrote:
I am guessing SRM now have a way of attaching regular crank arms onto their unit.
Sort of. The SRM unit for new Dura-Ace and the Hollowgram was designed for the one-piece bottombracket and drive-side cranks.

Uli can add a powermeter to a customer-supplied crank and bottom bracket for the same cost as a new powermeter (or you can purchase a new Shimano or Hollowgram powermeter with BB for an additional 500 Euros over the cost of an SRM professional). The estimated delivery time is 6 weeks. This is a better picture of the crank at Uli's place:


Geoff do you know if the Q-factor is changed for the DA10speed crank? And how much does the crank weight more?

Geoff
Posts: 5097
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 2:25 am
Location: Canada

by Geoff

Geoff do you know if the Q-factor is changed for the DA10speed crank? And how much does the crank weight more?
I have been told that, due to the use of the factory Dura-Ace BB and cranks, that the Q-factor is unchanged from the standard new factory Dura-Ace. As a Record user I have no personal knowledge of this, but I am infomed by people 'in-the-know' that the new Dura-Ace Q-factor is in fact different from the old Dura-Ace.

With respect to weight gain, I am informed that the total differential between the factory Dura-Ace and the SRM Dura-Ace crank is 80g. I find that hard to believe. I think that Uli may have meant to say that the difference between the conventional SRM professional version and the new Dura-Ace version is 80g, which would make more sense to me.

I forgot to mention that the Shimano and C'Dale versions of the SRM are only available in the Professional model. If you want to get some, talk to Jason at www.thebikeage.com and buy them in Canadian Dollars to save some money vs. the Euro and US dollar...

Paul_nl
Posts: 465
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 4:35 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

by Paul_nl

Since today SRM.de has a new website:

http://www.srm.de/

But no info about the DA SRM crank.

User avatar
zoey
Posts: 389
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 12:01 am
Location: California
Contact:

by zoey

Anyone here using this new design yet? I've been close to buying a regular pair but have not yet. I have a brand new pair of 2004 Durace cranks that I can send in to be modified. I just don't want to be the first person using them. :lol:
Cheers,
:lol:

"Ride lots." -- Eddy Merckx

Click Here to see my Scott CR1.

User avatar
Xterra Racer
Posts: 378
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 9:10 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

by Xterra Racer

Your not the first person, the whole T-mobile team is using them. Geez :)

User avatar
zoey
Posts: 389
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 12:01 am
Location: California
Contact:

by zoey

:laughat:
Xterra Racer wrote:Your not the first person, the whole T-mobile team is using them. Geez :)


No seriously anyone here using a set yet? :roll:
Cheers,
:lol:

"Ride lots." -- Eddy Merckx

Click Here to see my Scott CR1.

_JJ_
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 8:03 pm

by _JJ_

Mine is on the way...Should be about 5 more weeks until I can let you know the full scoop!

_JJ_

User avatar
zoey
Posts: 389
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 12:01 am
Location: California
Contact:

by zoey

Here is a a new Cannondale/SRM crank from velonews http://www.velonews.com/tour2004/tech/articles/6525.0.html

Image
Cheers,
:lol:

"Ride lots." -- Eddy Merckx

Click Here to see my Scott CR1.

HäddaFahn
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 4:51 pm

by HäddaFahn

Hi guys,

SRM is for sure a great thing for training, but its very expensive. A friend of mine told me about his Polar power meter thing and how good his training is since he got this installed. I didnt even know about it, so i looked all around the web and found a nice webside...

http://mywebpage.netscape.com/rechung/w ... setta.html

I bought the polar powermeter and it works great...i love it. Just the installation on my C1 was a little more complicated...the chainstay is very deep in coparism to normal frames...but i managed it quite nicely...

Its a 100% good working alternative to the SRM.

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post