Garmin Connect down - Ransomware?

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Nickldn
Posts: 391
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:35 am

by Nickldn

As many of you will no doubt have realised Garmin Connect is down. It's not possible to download bike rides/runs/horse rides/whatever else Garmin tracks.

Officially the Connect site is down for maintenance, but word on the street is that it's due to a cyber attack, which has encrypted Garmin's entire network. It is not clear yet if any personal data has been stolen.

So if your Stava profile is private your data may not stay private for much longer. On the other hand if your Strava profile is public already then you probably don't have much to fear.
Giant Propel Advanced SL Red Etap 11s Easton EC90 wheels 6.5kg

by Weenie


User avatar
pdlpsher1
Posts: 2849
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:09 pm
Location: CO

by pdlpsher1

I noticed it today when my ride wouldn't automatically download. Hopefully the attack isn't successful.

Sent from my KFMAWI using Tapatalk


User avatar
pdlpsher1
Posts: 2849
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:09 pm
Location: CO

by pdlpsher1

It looks to be a pretty serious incident.

https://www.zdnet.com/article/garmin-se ... re-attack/

Sent from my KFMAWI using Tapatalk


sychen
Posts: 1111
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:06 pm

by sychen

pdlpsher1 wrote:It looks to be a pretty serious incident.

https://www.zdnet.com/article/garmin-se ... re-attack/

Sent from my KFMAWI using Tapatalk
Definitely serious.. Looks like most production servers are hit including the soft phone based call centres.

They are already saying multi day downtime..

Seriously hope their offline backup solution is done correctly or else they'll be looking at longer than a few days to rebuild everything and serious loss of data.

Noticed only after my morning ride didn't upload.. For those that don't know.. You can still upload to Strava by using the old cable to pc.. Manual upload the .Fit file.


Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk




fogman
Posts: 957
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:36 pm

by fogman

I have been manually uploading my rides to Strava. Likewise, are you able to manually upload to Training Peaks? And then when Garmin is up and running again, will Strava and Training Peaks recognize and automatically delete any duplicate activities/workouts?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It's all downhill from here, except for the uphills.

User avatar
kgt
Posts: 8721
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:29 am
Location: Athens, Greece

by kgt

pdlpsher1 wrote:
Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:51 pm
I noticed it today when my ride wouldn't automatically download.
Me too. And it does look serious...

sychen
Posts: 1111
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:06 pm

by sychen

fogman wrote:I have been manually uploading my rides to Strava. Likewise, are you able to manually upload to Training Peaks? And then when Garmin is up and running again, will Strava and Training Peaks recognize and automatically delete any duplicate activities/workouts?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes... Strava doesn't have issues with duplication.. It's pretty good that way. Tp.. Don't know..

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk


User avatar
Miller
Posts: 1859
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:54 pm
Location: Reading, UK

by Miller

I'm reading that the attackers are demanding USD10 million from Garmin.

User avatar
miltmaster3
Posts: 752
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: patra greece

by miltmaster3

I am the only lucky person that have over 6 years TP as a buck up ! Wow


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
πατα τραβα ρε

tleo
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2020 5:08 pm

by tleo

miltmaster3 wrote:
Sat Jul 25, 2020 8:42 pm
I am the only lucky person that have over 6 years TP as a buck up ! Wow
I've got all my .fit files saved locally and backed up on my computer. In Garmin Connect you can have them email you your complete history which I've done a few times just in case something like this would happen and heaven forbid there was a data loss. But hopefully they can restore everything without any loss. Plus, my Edge 830 has like the last 9 months of activities saved in its memory to bridge the gap between when I last did the Garmin download and today.

justonwo
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon May 30, 2016 9:16 pm

by justonwo

Looks like the software running their website is about the same quality as the software they deploy on their bike computers.
2020 S-Works Roubaix AXS Red (Zipp 303 NSW)
2020 Ultimate Evo 10.0 AXS Red (DT Swiss PRC-1100)
2020 Pinarello Dogma F12 AXS Red (Enve SES 3.4 Disc)
2006 Cervelo Soloist
2018 S-Works Camber
2019 S-Works Epic

Retired: 2014 S-Works Roubaix

User avatar
itsacarr
Posts: 901
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 4:55 am
Contact:

by itsacarr

From what I understand their servers are built off Microsoft. Not the most robust enterprise solution these days. Either way if it's true the ransom is tied to the Russian group it's likely sanctions will get in the way of payment even if they wanted too.

This indeed does seem to be an unfortunately serious situation. But like someone else said it all depends on how they went about backing up data. If they did.


Nickldn
Posts: 391
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:35 am

by Nickldn

One would think $10m would be mere pocket change for a big multinational like Garmin.

It almost sounds like an Austin Powers moment. :D
Giant Propel Advanced SL Red Etap 11s Easton EC90 wheels 6.5kg

robertg
Posts: 535
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

by robertg

This may be a stupid question, but I am not the most tech savvy. Is there any way for these hackers to send something to our Garmins which would then transfer to our computers when we hook them up to download rides? Then they would essentially hack our home computers? Or am I just way off here?

by Weenie


Post Reply