Garmin Edge 530/830 Discussion

Questions about bike hire abroad and everything light bike related. No off-topic chat please

Moderator: Moderator Team

Bigger Gear
Posts: 476
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:58 pm
Location: Wet coast, Canada

by Bigger Gear

Good feedback Tobin, thanks. I"m probably going to get my hands on a 530. I already have mounts galore and all my data for 8 years on Garmin Connect. Migrating to Wahoo seems foolish in so many ways.

Butcher
Shop Owner
Posts: 944
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:58 am

by Butcher

Im not certain anyone has mentioned, but the mount on the back of the 830 is in the same location as the 820. In other words, the longer length is above the mount. So it does not change how close the unit is to the stem.

As for the buttons, because of the angled nature of the unit, it allows easier access to the butons. The mount I have places the buttons real close to the stem so there is little room to press them. The 830 resolves that issue.
Last edited by Butcher on Tue Jul 16, 2019 3:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

by Weenie


iankovski
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 5:44 pm

by iankovski

Guys, I live in America and I'll travel next month to Europe. Is that a problem to buy a 530/830 in another continent? Is there a way to update or change the maps?

Ghost234
Posts: 427
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:21 am

by Ghost234

You can buy the EU maps via Garmin's website.

iankovski
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 5:44 pm

by iankovski

So, guys, who’ve been using the 530 or the 830 so far, what’s your pros and cons? I’m deciding between both of them and I really don’t know if it’s worth paying €100 more on the bigger one.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ryanw
Posts: 814
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 6:52 pm
Location: London

by ryanw

Went from a 520 Plus to the 830. Love it.

Better in every way and I’m 100% touch screen over buttons again
'16 Cervelo S5 - 6,650g RIP
'17 Focus Mares Force 1 - 7,170g
'19 Cervelo S5 Disc - 7,460g

IG: RhinosWorkshop - Check it out for all my custom builds :thumbup:

:!: Ride Southern Spain Cycling Holidays *£445 for 7 Nights* :!:

User avatar
pdlpsher1
Posts: 2424
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:09 pm
Location: CO

by pdlpsher1

Love my 830. A good upgrade over the 520.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dim
Posts: 534
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2017 11:25 am
Location: Cambridge UK

by dim

i'm most probably going to get the Garmin 530 as a backup to my Edge 1000 for long tours my old Edge 500 is starting to have 'hickups'

I have the remote control button for my Edge 1000 (no need to swipe screens and it's brilliant) ..... 'think' that the 530 works with a remote button aswell?

https://buy.garmin.com/en-GB/GB/p/146078

Image
Trek Emonda SL6
Miyata One Thousand

User avatar
pdlpsher1
Posts: 2424
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:09 pm
Location: CO

by pdlpsher1

If you have Di2 you can use the buttons on the top of the hoods to control the screen pages and other things. That’s what I do now but you also need the eTube BT interface module. It’s a lighter and cleaner solution than the remote control.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

shillc
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Toronto

by shillc

I have eps v3 which worked with 820 as edge remotewith campy mode buttons to turn pages and set lap times. I cannot get the 830 to connect and use mode buttons.
Any thoughts?

User avatar
kgt
Posts: 7837
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:29 am
Location: Athens, Greece

by kgt

I have a similar question. Is there a way I can use EPS v3 in order to scroll through Garmin 520's screens? It is supposed to work with te mode button but I cannot make it work.

dierckxsens
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 8:08 am

by dierckxsens

iankovski wrote:So, guys, who’ve been using the 530 or the 830 so far, what’s your pros and cons? I’m deciding between both of them and I really don’t know if it’s worth paying €100 more on the bigger one.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Moved from 520 to 820 and then 530, super fast and easy to navigate, don't know the 830 but the touch screen on the 820 was so shitty that I'm sticking to buttons for now.
Cheers


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
miltmaster3
Posts: 668
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: patra greece

by miltmaster3

dierckxsens wrote:
iankovski wrote:So, guys, who’ve been using the 530 or the 830 so far, what’s your pros and cons? I’m deciding between both of them and I really don’t know if it’s worth paying €100 more on the bigger one.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Moved from 520 to 820 and then 530, super fast and easy to navigate, don't know the 830 but the touch screen on the 820 was so shitty that I'm sticking to buttons for now.
Cheers


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The 830 touch screen is like mobile touchscreen very fast


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
πατα τραβα ρε

Butcher
Shop Owner
Posts: 944
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:58 am

by Butcher

I'll second that. I've only got a few rides with my 830 but I have had no issue yet.

Wierd. That's odd that I said there are no issues with a new Garmin product.

TobinHatesYou
Posts: 4199
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:02 pm

by TobinHatesYou

I find the 830 touchscreen more finicky than my 1030 touchscreen, but the display is crisp and bright in comparison. Mainly my issue is sensitivity. Sometimes it takes multiple attempts to register a press, and if I try to press/hold to scroll through a screen, it'll only register as a press (which results in advancing to another screen rather than scrolling.)

Overall I'm really happy with the device itself, and maybe my fingers are just too damn dry...

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post