What cables do I use for Sram Red?

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
wilwil
Posts: 358
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:47 pm

by wilwil

It seems difficult to buy Sram cables in the UK do people use Shimano? I think the gear inners are a different size by 0.1mm.

jobvisser
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 10:24 am

by jobvisser

Shimano cables work just fine for me

by Weenie


User avatar
wheelbuilder
Posts: 691
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 2:10 am

by wheelbuilder

Sram specific cables feed through the shifter much easier. If you can find them, use them. Jagwire makes 1.1mm cables.
Never cheer before you know who is winning

Bluechip
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2015 2:04 am

by Bluechip

While I have used 1.2mm on Sram and it worked fine, the correct 1.1 cables are much easier to install.

motorthings
Posts: 341
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 9:56 pm

by motorthings

yokozuna. best mod to the system. been using them for years.

sungod
Posts: 1701
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 9:37 pm

by sungod

wilwil wrote:
Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:45 pm
It seems difficult to buy Sram cables in the UK do people use Shimano? I think the gear inners are a different size by 0.1mm.
a quick search with google finds multiple uk suppliers, even halfords do them!

by Weenie


NiFTY
Posts: 1313
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 11:26 pm

by NiFTY

They all work. 1.1mm are easiest to install. I use kcnc ti on the brakes without issues for thousands of ks but on the shift i have had both sides fail inside the shifter (so not over clamping).
Evo 4.9kg SL3 6.64kg Slice RS 8.89kg viewtopic.php?f=10&t=110579" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post