The Garmin Edge 500 Thread

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
Murphs
Posts: 1117
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 12:04 am
Location: Gold Coast, QLD, Australia

by Murphs

You use Garmin Training Centre to create workouts

by Weenie


petalpower
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 7:52 pm

by petalpower

Is there any way to set the power zones on the 500 without doing so through the software that came with the unit?

Johnny Rad
Posts: 1832
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 6:22 am
Location: Zion

by Johnny Rad

...and how does one change the max HR? I've been through the menus, but obviously missed it. Ugh.

jasjas
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:15 am

by jasjas

From memory, via Garmin Connect (connect 500 first), go to "settings" (top right hand corner) and "Training Zones"
one thing though, i could nt lower MaxHR without first lowering all the previous ones first
you then click Save and "send to device"

rgkicksbutt
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:58 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

by rgkicksbutt

GTC says there is only one road in my city, which is the major highway that passes by. It doesnt have any city streets, or all the country roads that I ride on. are maps downloadable or is this software truly absolute garbage? I cant even upload the routes from my 500 as they are 'incompatible'!

Gregorio
Posts: 1582
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 10:24 pm
Location: Center of the Universe

by Gregorio

rg try using http://connect.garmin.com, I think that is what you want to see in way of maps.

rgkicksbutt
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:58 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

by rgkicksbutt

That's what I'm doing now :thumbup:

I guess all GTC is good for is creating workouts

petalpower
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 7:52 pm

by petalpower

jasjas wrote:From memory, via Garmin Connect (connect 500 first), go to "settings" (top right hand corner) and "Training Zones"
one thing though, i could nt lower MaxHR without first lowering all the previous ones first
you then click Save and "send to device"



Thanks - worked like a charm.

User avatar
Juanmoretime
Administrator
Posts: 7055
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 11:08 am
Location: Urbana, Illinois

by Juanmoretime

Well I've drunken the Edge 500 koolaid. So far it works pretty awesome anally nicely with my Macbook Pro. I was able to adjust my zones but just went in and edited them in the Training Center and then upon syncing it was loaded into the Edge.
RESIDENT GRUMPY OLD MAN.

qkkqc
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 9:05 pm

by qkkqc

For those of you who have used Garmin Edge 500 and Powertap cpu unit,

What does the Garmin has that the PT unit doesn't have? altitude?
What does the PT unit have the Garmin doesn't have?
thanks all

SQ
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:39 am
Location: Melbourne

by SQ

Forgive me is this has been addressed before, couldn't find it though.

I can view activities on the unit and in Garmin Connect but when attaching .fit files to an e mail the files are either not showing up or are very small/no data (eg 9KB file attaches for a two hour ride).

Any thoughts?

Thanks very much.

raspaa
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 5:18 am
Location: uphill

by raspaa

hello...

Is there a way for the garmin to calculate "normalized power"?

Thanks
grind it out

Gregorio
Posts: 1582
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 10:24 pm
Location: Center of the Universe

by Gregorio

I have a 305 with cadence and hr now and am getting a 500. If I want the HR, can I use my 305 strap? Are the head units the same for the 500 (with or with out HR) ?
Thanks

User avatar
jmilliron
Posts: 2014
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 5:03 pm
Location: San Francisco Peninsula

by jmilliron

Yes, yes.
2013 Wilier Cento1 SR || 2009 Ridley Crossbow || 2011 Yeti AS-R 5 Carbon

by Weenie


Lennaert
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 2:14 pm

by Lennaert

I really like to buy this device but primarily I will use it for heart rate/ speed instead of gps. Does the garmin edge 500 record beat to beat heart rate data (R-R). And: does firstbeat athlete analyses the heart rate for EPOC/ TE calculation?

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post