Faster 40k TT

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

retemple

by retemple

I want to get faster..

This is my first year/season racing or really training for that matter. I've done two 40k TTs this year (59:21 and 58:38). I'm having a tough time "digging deep." During my last TT, I was able to stay 2-3 beats below my LT for about 20 minutes and then I didn't ride as hard (7-9 beats below my LT) for the remainder of the race (excluding the short push at the end). I didn't focus all that well.

What I want to know:

What tips do you have for the mental part of TT'ing?
What about breathing?
What kind of gains can I expect w/ experience and better training?

I look at some of the results of the fastest guys in our series and over the course of 5-6 years, some of them started as 59-62 min TT'ers and now ride 52-54 mins. Is that reasonable?

I'd love to hear from the TT'ers out there.

retemple

by retemple

The Emoticon was not intended, it was supposed to say 58:38

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

efahl

by efahl

retemple wrote:What tips do you have for the mental part of TT'ing?
That's easy, just ride more races. When you started, a 25k probably seemed long and painful, it just gets easier the longer you do it.

What about breathing?
I find that I get into a pattern, one breath every second or third stroke, don't know that it matters much, it just feels right and I never focus on it, it just sort of happens.

What kind of gains can I expect w/ experience and better training?

I look at some of the results of the fastest guys in our series and over the course of 5-6 years, some of them started as 59-62 min TT'ers and now ride 52-54 mins. Is that reasonable?