Help me with Cadence, why should or shouldn’t I be concerned…

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

gSporco

by gSporco

Ok Ww's,

About me, Im a multi sport amateur/hobbyist.. (Cycling, Ice Hockey, Golf). But am transitioning more towards just Cycling and Golf.. I dont race, never will but want to be the beat version of myself.. Im 5,7" or 170cm and weigh 180lbs or 81kg (working on dropping 6kg, to help my climbing)

Ok okay, so my cadence on average is 70-80rpm (average toral ride).. I struggle to maintain higher than 85 rpm (for longer than 10 min at a time).. So is there something wrong? Does my cadence suck? Doni need to train for higher cadence?

Why do I ask? Watching Zwift academy special on GCN the male team managers commented a few times about how they were concerned with the one riders low cadence (it was around 80 rpm).

Now I riding on Zwift and finally committing to training this year I noticed that cadence is very important when using ERG mode on the Kickr v5.. pedaling anything +5% gradient on "Simulation ride" or around and above FTP during a "training ride" if you are not spinning above 80rpm it becomes extremely hard to pedal and stalling in quicksand can happen really easily..

So for those of you who can decipher what I am asking, please chime in?

Do I need to work on getting my average cadence above 75rpm? Does it matter? Should I stop thinking about it?

TIA
Last edited by gSporco on Thu Dec 30, 2021 7:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
@gSporco - Instagram
Specialized Aethos
State All Road 6061
Retired Cervelo Aspero

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

TobinHatesYou

by TobinHatesYou

1) Everyone has a different "natural" cadence at a particular power band, but it can also be trained higher.