Rest week, when and how?

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

robbosmans

by robbosmans

So I am new to structured training. I am using this application by a Dutch training centre called “Join”.

I hav so far done 3 weeks of their 3 month FTP builder plan.

Week 1: 424 TSS
Week 2: 262 TSS
Week 3: 479 TSS

I read everywhere that rest weeks are super important, and the plan doesn’t seem to give me a rest week atm.

Should I take a rest week? Should I just continue? What do I do in a rest week?

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

onemanpeloton

by onemanpeloton

Does their plan not schedule a rest week at all?
2020 Trek Boone
2017 Merida Reacto
2017 Trek Superfly AL

onemanpeloton

by onemanpeloton

On a very basic level, a typical progression would normally be 3 weeks gradually increasing TSS, followed by 1 week recovery which is approx 50% TSS of those first 3 weeks
2020 Trek Boone
2017 Merida Reacto
2017 Trek Superfly AL

robbosmans

by robbosmans

I can only see the coming week, so I don’t know what is coming in 3 weeks.

This is a very cheap subscription service.

Its just me first taste of structured training. I wasn’t ready to the commitment of more expensive training plans.

So it might be a good idea to take this week easy, with a tss of around 200?

onemanpeloton

by onemanpeloton

Yes I think that sounds sensible. Aim to do a similar number of riding hours as the previous 3 weeks, but with only low intensity.

You can get "free trials" of Trainer Road which is what I use. Even if you don't pay after the trial, you could use the trial to see how a training plan is structured. This may help you plan your own training without paying for anything.

There are also lots of blogs from Trainer Road, Training Peaks, Dylan Johnson and others about how to approach training.