I've put on weight and don't know why

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

okimy

by okimy

I've been cycling for 2 years now and my weight has always been relatively steady around 64 kg. But lately it's gone up to around 66.5 kg and I don't understand why. I haven't changed my diet and trained as much as in summer, although now I'm on the turbo. It could be that I'm building up muscle (but why only after 2 years?), that my scale is off more than usual (it generally varies around 2 kg; last summer my weight was between 62 and 65 kg, now it's between 65 and 68) or that I've simply put on fat. Since I'm only 17 I reckon building up muscle is somewhat likely but I'm still interested in what you think.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

TobinHatesYou

by TobinHatesYou

Don't worry about 2.5kg.

bm0p700f
in the industry

by bm0p700f

Ha I gained that last Christmas and still got it. It was not muscle either

AJS914

by AJS914

If you are only 17 then you are still growing.

BitGid

by BitGid

Have you compared chest, weight, and hip measurements? Are your clothes feeling tight?

If the weight gain isn’t due to muscle mass and you want to reduce weight - and you mention eating more due to all the biking - you will need to change your meal plan.
But that doesn’t seem like the answer you want to hear.
Last edited by BitGid on Sun Nov 03, 2019 4:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

d36

by d36

If you want the full story you really need to get a dexa scan
I've done cheapo tests/scans/bmi calcs and they were way off

Couple things I picked up (used to be high 70s pre cycling now low 60ish)

Water weight is a real thing
Fitter you get the more muscle you gain (but also fat loss)
Riding in summer = major water loss means my weight can yoyo 1-2kg (40 degree celcious days)
High carb diet = more water retention