Power meter vs smart trainer. Best bang for the $$$?

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

alcatraz

by alcatraz

Hey WWs

I'm interested in power training (outdoor+indoor) like many others and was hoping someone that has tried many options could recommend me what I need to get. I'll probably not go the general zwift/trainerroad route however.

I have never done power training before. I'm not that interested in virtual worlds or riding with buddies virtually. I'd like to have an affordable simple way to jump on a trainer and have 30-60min of smart power training with a resistance that feels relatively close to reality. Later when riding outdoors it would be nice to have some kind of effective power training program in the bike computer (like garmin intervals or whatever is effective).

Because I don't have either of the three: bike computer / smart trainer / power meter I'm wondering what you can recommend for me that brings the best bang for the buck sort of speak. Most of the benefits of smart modern training but without virtual worlds and monthly payments. Wahoo kickr + garmin computer + left arm power meter? Big freewheel simple trainer + left arm power meter or expensive smart trainer with built in power meter?

I use strava and I like it but if the choice is between recording progress online and a better training program I'd choose the latter.

Does garmin provide some power training plans when hooked up to a power meter? What is the best option out there without monthly payments? Is there a simple general principle that can be applied to garmin training plans to make them similar to the paid popular trainerroad plans?

(I live in a place with very little rain/snow but I've found out I catch a cold way too easy so I need to stay indoor in winter, more than I like.)

Thanks for reading! /a

AJS914

by AJS914