Base Training: Traditional, Sweet Spot, or both?

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

JBeauBikes2

by JBeauBikes2

I'm starting to plan for my fall/winter base phase, and really want to squeeze as much as I can out of my training between mid-August and April.

I'm a college student and have plenty of time to do a traditional base and ride 12-15 hours a week.

My question is would it be helpful to follow a traditional base with a sweet spot base? I'm pretty undeveloped in the sense that I've only ridden for 11 months and haven't done a real base.

My threshold is 3.7 W/kg but it doesn't feel that way because I haven't gotten the physical adaptions from doing a real base phase. Would I see diminished returns doing a sweet spot base and just waste time I could be building? Let me know what you guys think

Hellgate

by Hellgate

If you don't have a "base" after 11 months of riding, race cross and max out your effort this winter to build some power and V02. W/kg really doesn't mean squat if you can throw down when you need tom

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

JBeauBikes2

by JBeauBikes2

Hellgate wrote:If you don't have a "base" after 11 months of riding, race cross and max out your effort this winter to build some power and V02. W/kg really doesn't mean squat if you can throw down when you need tom