KICKR training setups - whos doing what?

A light bike doesn't replace good fitness.

Moderator: Moderator Team

makoti
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 6:33 am

by makoti

I'll check with her. Guessing she'll say that's too far, but if she's up there anyway, maybe. I'll let you know & thanks for the offer!

by Weenie


makoti
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 6:33 am

by makoti

And wouldn't you know..I just heard from her. She bought a Kurt Kinetic, so not needed but again, thanks for trying to help her out.

Sam

drmutley
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 4:23 am

by drmutley

Nefarious86 wrote:NSW. As it sits atm.

Image


That's one kickass fan!

michaelten
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 11:08 pm

by michaelten

I just bought myself a Kickr, now for the silly questions!

Is there an app or something that I can download a route to to ride on the Kickr? For instance I can plan a route in Strava, can I then ride that route on the kickr?

Thanks

spdntrxi
Posts: 1470
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:11 pm

by spdntrxi

michaelten wrote:I just bought myself a Kickr, now for the silly questions!

Is there an app or something that I can download a route to to ride on the Kickr? For instance I can plan a route in Strava, can I then ride that route on the kickr?

Thanks


yeah it's called segments.. it's in the apple app store and runs on the iPad, but it's not free. if you want to ride a route you have to make that route one big segment and then you can ride the whole thing.

fcabot
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 7:30 pm

by fcabot

You can load course files and previous performance files into PerfPro as work outs. You can link any video to any workout in PerfPro. I'm guessing that a Garmin ride and a GoPro video of that ride would be killer together.

I mostly program intervals and watch Netflix though.

drmutley
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 4:23 am

by drmutley

Has anyone got any tips on how to pair the kickr to a MacBook Air via BT?! Just bought a MBA and can't pair them for the life of me!

AlphaDogCycling
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 6:57 pm

by AlphaDogCycling

What app are you running on your Mac? The Mac can't natively pair / control the Kickr. You need an app like TrainerRoad to control your Kickr

drmutley
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 4:23 am

by drmutley

Thanks mate, yep all sorted...
Kinomap is pretty good too!

Cheetahmk7
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 2:09 am

by Cheetahmk7

spdntrxi wrote:
michaelten wrote:I just bought myself a Kickr, now for the silly questions!

Is there an app or something that I can download a route to to ride on the Kickr? For instance I can plan a route in Strava, can I then ride that route on the kickr?

Thanks


yeah it's called segments.. it's in the apple app store and runs on the iPad, but it's not free. if you want to ride a route you have to make that route one big segment and then you can ride the whole thing.


That App has been withdrawn hasn't it?

Speaking of Apps, I use the iMobileIntervals and Wahoo Fitness Apps on my iPhone to control my Kickr. The iMobileIntervals website allows me to write erg files and has a library of erg files to choose from. These can then be uploaded to my mobile and they will control the Kickr for my interval session. It doesn't have any fancy videos but that doesn't bother me. I use the ERG setting of the Wahoo Fitness App when I'm doing 5, 20 or 50 minute test. You simply enter the desired wattage and the Kickr will hold it.

drmutley
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 4:23 am

by drmutley

I find if u use erg mode (as I do mostly) that u need to "warm" the kickr up for 10 - 15mins, then do a spin down. If I don't do this warm up process the Kickr's power calculation will drift significantly, and 200w at the start will only be apppproximately 170 by 20 minutes in...

User avatar
itsacarr
Posts: 733
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 4:55 am
Contact:

by itsacarr

Sorry to rehash some of this if it's already been stated - trying to sift through a metric ton of data from this forum and DCRainmaker ... I now have a kickr - subscriptions aren't really my thing given the cost of entry to all this so:

Favorite app for simply loading a GPS course?

The Segments app - can't understand why they would allow you to ride a route instead but is hacking a segment to be a route the best way for riding a strava route?

I want to load previous races basically to do the courses at home .... on a mac ....

Still excited to see all this develop, never thought training at home would get to this level.

spdntrxi
Posts: 1470
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:11 pm

by spdntrxi

make a long(er) segment out of route and remember the number so it's searchable in the segment app. This is what I used to do.. or look for longer segments made by others. I've been using it lately with Zwift Beta... but that will be subscription eventually, so I'll have to decide if it's worth it at that point.

User avatar
itsacarr
Posts: 733
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2008 4:55 am
Contact:

by itsacarr

Can you create a route from a segment on the desktop or does it all have to be through the app?

Bkools software looks pretty interesting as far as simply being able to drop in a GPS file of some kind.

On the invite list for Zwift - sounds interesting so far.

spdntrxi
Posts: 1470
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:11 pm

by spdntrxi

itsacarr wrote:Can you create a route from a segment on the desktop or does it all have to be through the app?

Bkools software looks pretty interesting as far as simply being able to drop in a GPS file of some kind.

On the invite list for Zwift - sounds interesting so far.


yes you can create a "segment" from a "route".. just remember the number that gets assigned to it and search for it in the segment app.

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post