Ode To The Board!

Bring your questions & complaints to the Weight Weenies moderators, here! Also, News & Announcements. Use the other boards for bike related talks.
wisgliebau

by wisgliebau

It's been very interesting to come to this forum! I've been cycling for about two years now and am merely a 21 years punk, by the measure of most! I have a rather computer-like brain when it comes to learning and utilizing information for my benefit and continue to "evolve" in my cycling preferences with every bit of intake and action I make regarding the hobby. The Weight Weenie forum in particular has sparked my imagination more since my recent patronage than any single faucet of online information has in the past, and that covers multiple hobbies to boot!

Prior to discovering this forum a couple of weeks ago, I thought sub-12 pound road bikes were myths that were rarely experienced even within seasoned riding circles. As few and far between as they may be, the number of weight weenies and WW enthusiasts out there, as well as the accessibility of components that make these advanced bicycles possible is beyond what I could have imagined! I owe this profound jump in my understanding of bicycling's outer limits to this forum...

Going along with the "Weenie taxonomy" thread (where I originally intended to put this post), I've noticed how many different takes people have on weight weenies. Even among the scrupulous patrons here, I may see one post praising a bicycle for it's weight and the next stating that it's ugly as sin! Certainly, variety is inevitable, but where lines must be drawn is hard to figure out... I suppose that in reality there are no lines - and I suspect we may never see a bicycle that everyone will be in awe of! But that's the great part, from what I can tell. It challenges those who are fortunate enough to build and test these machines to create something not only to their liking but to present it before their peers for judgment.