Enve vs. Zipp wheels

The spirit of Grav-lo-cross. No but seriously, cyclocross and gravel go here!

Moderator: Moderator Team

bet1216

by bet1216

I'm looking at building a new gravel bike. I am considering the Enve G23 wheels or the new version of the Zipp 303 firecrest. Both are hookless, which seems to really limit my tire choices. I have tried to do some searching on here but I can't find much information on either wheelset. Any experience or feedback from anyone? Comparisons? The "gravel" in my area really varies...there is always tarmac between sections also. I don't have the nice firetrails, sand or dirt....crappy middle US farm gravel roads in general separated by a few miles of tarmac at a time. Many of the events I go to are the same. I'm new to tubeless tires and have always run tubes on my road bike...so this whole hookless and what tires are compatible is still somewhat a mystery. Advice on any of this?

Thanks!

Josku

by Josku

I don't have an answer to this question, but instead will give third opinion, Roval Terra CLX with Specialized Pathfinder tubeless tires. This is a super combo for gravel and tarmac! I have used this combo in my 3T Racemax now for about 7000km.
"Roval Terra CLX Wheelset Review | Cyclingnews" https://www.cyclingnews.com/reviews/rov ... et-review/

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

kode54

by kode54

I have two sets of G23, both for gravel. One is 80/20 pavement/gravel and the other is set up for 70/30 gravel/pavement.
No matter what, I will end up with at least 30% gravel riding out from my house. Unless I drive somewhere to hit gravel specific. But from the sounds of it...you probably need just a gravel tire like the G-One allround with a bit of knobbies. If you have more technical and larger gravel rocks...go bigger on knobbies. firetrails, sand and dirt you should be good with the allround.