Crankset advise sought (Praxis v Easton v FSA)

The spirit of Grav-lo-cross. No but seriously, cyclocross and gravel go here!

Moderator: Moderator Team

Stendhal

by Stendhal

Hi, this is my first time to the Cyclocross / Gravel Touring board because for my next bike project I am building up a road \ gravel \ all-purpose bike with wider tires and disc brakes (can’t write more, that would spoil if the clues below aren’t a dead giveaway).

I am looking for 2x crankset advice, esp. from anyone who used the three options below. The bottom bracket standard is T47 (I can hear some of you clapping), and the cassette is 11-32. Weights and (street) prices are estimates.

1. Praxis M30 Zayante Carbon crankset with 48 / 32 rings, with matching Praxis T47 BB -- $372, 744g
2. Easton EC SL90 arms, Easton 47 / 32 gravel rings, Chris King T47 BB w/conversion kit -- $184 more than Praxis, -86 grams weight savings
3. FSA K-Force Light Modular crankset with 48 / 32 rings, Chris King T47 BB without a conversion kit -- $143 more than Praxis, -52 grams weight savings

Particularly interested in whether you think the advantage of using a Praxis BB with a Praxis crank set outweighs the benefits of a Chris King BB, and whether FSA has its act together (I had a lower end road crankset from them in the early 2010s and was underwhelmed).

I do think the gear ratios on 48 are slightly better than 47, for the top ring and my riding.

PS I did try to search for answers here, apologize if I missed.
Cannondale Supersixevo 4 (7.05 kg)
Retired: Chapter2, Tarmac SWorks SL6, Orbea, Dogma F8\F10, LOW, Wilier, Ridley Noah, Cervelo R3\R5\S2\Aspero, Time Fluidity, Lapierre Pulsium, Cyfac, Felt, Klein, Cannondale pre-CAAD aluminum

mattyNor

by mattyNor