Dura Ace 9000 - ETA late 2012/early 2013

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
User avatar
Guerdi
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Switzerland

by Guerdi

Even if totally OT, keep those old school DA pics coming :thumbup:

User avatar
HammerTime2
Posts: 5441
Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 4:43 pm
Location: Wherever there's a mountain beckoning to be climbed

by HammerTime2

No, those are new school. 7400 is New Dura Ace after all. Old school would be Dura Ace AX 7300 and previous.
Dyna Drive
Image
and all that jazz.

Oh yeah, A is for Aero. What's old is new, and that sort of thing.

by Weenie


User avatar
baldkingpin
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 5:07 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA

by baldkingpin

Madcow wrote (back on p.24, 6/1/12) re: 7900 10spd. rear wheel compatibility with 9000:

"Nothing definitive yet. Wayne has been riding a 10 speed cassette with the new group for a few months and doesn't seem to have any problems with it, so it looks like it works. The real question is how well will it work. My thought would be the change the freehub bodies on all my wheels to 11 speed and then use the spacer kit to convert some back to 10 speed for the other bikes. That way any wheelset works with any of your bikes."

Since the above post, there were some posts speculating that it might not be so simple, that redishing might be required. Not sure why this would be the case if it really is possible to simply replace the 7900/10spd. freehub body with a 9000/11spd. body. Maybe a new end nut and/or spoke clearance issues make it so? Also, if Wayne hasn't had any problems running a 10spd. wheel (7900 hub and cassette?) on an otherwise 9000 system by simply adjusting limit screws to lock out the 11th gear, seems that's the easiest solution when you want to run your "old" 7900 wheels.

I've got 4 sets of 7900 Shimano wheels (2 clinchers, 2 tubulars) that I love, including a brand new set of C35's, so my interest in confirming I can still use these wheels with 9000 is keen.

Anything new on this, Madcow? Does Wayne says the 9000 with 7900 rear hub/cassette works well or very well or perfectly?

I know it's only been a month, just thought I'd ask :) Thanks for your great reviews and info., we've all come to rely on you for good info.!

MarvinK
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 7:37 pm

by MarvinK

I'm building a new bike and trying to decide between 9000 & 9070 di2. It seems like a pretty hefty price and some bulky-looking (albiet less than that 1st generation di2) for automatic trim and most likely less maintenance. Any thoughts? Any others going through the same struggle?

BdaGhisallo
Posts: 2046
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:38 pm

by BdaGhisallo

DI2 is pretty special. I have been on it for three years and, rain or shine, it shifts fantastically every time. Sure it's possible to execute a quicker shift with mechanical shifters, and some maintain they can do it every time, but you can't beat DI2 for dependable shifts. You come to take it for granted, shifting without even thinking about the effot, and it never lets you down.

CrazyErrol
Posts: 366
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 11:30 pm

by CrazyErrol

I spoke to Madison this week and asked them about 9000 compatibility with 10 speed wheelsets.

I was told 9070 di2 can be configured to run as 10 speed.

I hope this is reliable info!

Mike V
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 2:57 am
Location: USofA NorCal

by Mike V

Saw this on VN today is gives numbers and what Wayne Stetina is running.

http://velonews.competitor.com/2012/07/bikes-and-tech/technical-faq/technical-faq-how-does-di2-know_228686

User avatar
ave
Posts: 1744
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:15 pm
Location: Hungary

by ave

What is this?
Image

It's different to the 9070, so maybe an early prototype, or what?
This is official 9070
Image

BdaGhisallo
Posts: 2046
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:38 pm

by BdaGhisallo

Those look like some early prototype pics of the 7970 levers that circulated before the initial DI2 levers were finalized.

User avatar
euan
Posts: 1515
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 11:20 am

by euan

Image
Image
"Step forward the climber and all those who worship at the altar of lightness" - R. Millar

User avatar
SvenNijs
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:25 am
Location: Sydaaneeeee

by SvenNijs

Testing an Ultegra Di2 11spd rear mech or maybe it's 105..... ?

Jan
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 8:50 pm
Location: Trondheim, Norway

by Jan

http://www.bikeradar.com/road/news/arti ... 000-34009/

An extra sprocket out back means a new chain. It's the same width as Shimano's 10-speed chains but has a slightly shorter pitch (the distance between the chain rivets).


Can this be correct? Shorter pitch?

User avatar
micky
Posts: 4781
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:57 pm
Location: Vicenza
Contact:

by micky

Bit strange indeed. :|

maquisard
Posts: 2048
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 8:51 pm
Location: France

by maquisard

Reading that article I think the person writing it got confused as to what pitch is and actually means the width of the river ( and chain ) not the pitch. There is no way on earth Shimano would change the pitch, there is no benefit in doing so and it would cause compatibility nightmares with basically everything. :shock:

durkonion
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 4:17 am

by durkonion

Shimano has changed the pitch before. They used a 10mm pitch for a while. With that being said, I think they learned their lesson and are sticking with 1/2 inch pitch.

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post