3TDoric ltd + Specialized carbon Toupe s-works will it work?

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
tri
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 1:44 am

by tri

I have found that my current saddle a fizik Arione is too narrow for my butt. It has worked well on short or medium length workouts with high intensity. But if I do longer workouts with lower intensity where the pressure on the pedals is lower, I feel uncomfortable and a pressure against the perineum.

Now I'm thinking of buying a Specialized Toupé Carbon saddle (Will try it out first just checking for compat.). Will the S-Works version with carbon fiber rails work with my current seat post, a 3T Doric LTD?

Briscoelab
Posts: 1730
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:01 pm

by Briscoelab

Should work fine. I have the Toupe Pro with the carbon rails on that same seat post.

tri
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 1:44 am

by tri

So I've got the saddle to try it out. Mounted it and it ended up like this. The front bolt is rather long. Can I cut it and grind it down or do I somehow/sometime need the extra length? Any particular reason why it's longer?

Image

Image

thisisatest
Shop Owner
Posts: 1980
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 4:02 am
Location: NoVA/DC

by thisisatest

cut it. you will only need the bolt length if you later move to a saddle with very angled rails (like an original flite)

User avatar
Dov
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 8:45 pm
Location: London

by Dov

Can't you just ignore it?

Although, cutting it is pretty easy
Felt F1 DA Di2
Cinelli Supercorsa
Cielo Classic Sportif
Concorde Shopper
Nagasawa Fixie Skid Machine
Cannondale CAAD 10 Track [custom]

Employee of Rapha
Instagram
Strava

Permon
Posts: 640
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 8:52 am

by Permon

Hello,

sorry for my input (I just did not want to create similar topic)

I do have a 3T Dorico LTD seatpost and would like to buy S-works Toupe Carbon saddle
(please, be aware that 3T Doric is not the same as Dorico)
Whatever, the clamping parts are different from the Doric ones. So, I am not sure, if the rails accepts the Dorico clamping system.....?

Could anybody tell if it works or not?

Thank You!

tonytourist
Posts: 1182
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 7:13 am
Location: 93306

by tonytourist

I run a Dorico Team and S Works Toupe with no issues, works great :thumbup:

Permon
Posts: 640
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 8:52 am

by Permon

tonytourist wrote:I run a Dorico Team and S Works Toupe with no issues, works great :thumbup:


Good, thank You for feedback!

lovestheclimb
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 1:53 am

by lovestheclimb

tonytourist wrote:I run a Dorico Team and S Works Toupe with no issues, works great :thumbup:


+1
Works great for me too

sigismond0
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 8:29 pm

by sigismond0

Are the front and rear bolts the same length? I know on some seatposts they're different lengths to account for the saddle angle, and if so you can swap them to make them fit better. In any case, you can certainly chop it down. Leave 5 or so mms above the nut for adjustability and durability.

1415chris
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 8:59 am
Location: Surrey UK

by 1415chris

Keeping the saddle levelled, the bolts, in Dorico, barely go through the jokes. The front one, two different saddles with carbon rails, doesn't go through entirely.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post