11sp Shimano quick link

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Horacio
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 5:28 am

by Horacio

Does anyone know if there's an available quick link for the 11sp Shimano chain?

by Weenie


upside
Posts: 607
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 1:26 am
Location: USA

by upside

I have been using the 11 sp KMC on 2 different bikes and no issues yet. :beerchug:

Horacio
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 5:28 am

by Horacio

For the Campy chain?
My LBS was telling me the width wasnt correct.

DaveS
Posts: 2529
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:26 pm

by DaveS

The width that matters is in between the outer plates. Install the link and use feeler gages to check the side clearance between the inner and outer plates. You should have at least .1mm of clearance, but no more than .2mm is preferable. You can get by with up to .3mm, but it's not a great fit with that much side clearance.

KMC master links tend to have more side clearance than the rest of the chain.

mrd
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:26 pm

by mrd

I think you will find that the KMC website now says that the X11SL is compatible with both campag 11 and shimano 11. The only issue is that the quick link is supposedly non-reusable but although you may need to use a quick link tool to remove it, it can be put back on and still seems to work fine.

mann2
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 11:36 am

by mann2

upside wrote:I have been using the 11 sp KMC on 2 different bikes and no issues yet. :beerchug:


concurring. been using the kmc 11sp chain too, not just the Missing Link.

User avatar
theremery
Posts: 2673
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:56 am
Location: New Zealand

by theremery

KMC quick links can be re-used for the life of the chain with no issues. Make sure they are still hard to remove ....if they become sloppy, I'd replace it but I've never struck that, and I take my chain off for ease of cleaning (not that i clean my poor old bike often). Re-using them say 6-8 times before I biff the chain out (the link goes with it).
Updated: Racing again! Thought this was unlikely! Eventually, I may even have a decent race!
Edit: 2015: darn near won the best South Island series (got second in age
-group)..woo hoo Racy Theremery is back!!

eric
Posts: 2196
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2003 9:47 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Contact:

by eric

I keep an old worn link as a spare in the seat bag. Takes nearly no room and hardly weighs anything. I have yet to need one but I've used them to fix chains for people I'm riding with.

fdegrove
Tubbie Guru
Posts: 5858
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Belgium

by fdegrove

Hi,

theremery wrote:KMC quick links can be re-used for the life of the chain with no issues. Make sure they are still hard to remove ....if they become sloppy, I'd replace it but I've never struck that, and I take my chain off for ease of cleaning (not that i clean my poor old bike often). Re-using them say 6-8 times before I biff the chain out (the link goes with it).


The entire idea of quick links being usable just once is in all respects just plain commercial horse crap anyway.

Ciao, ;)
Last edited by fdegrove on Tue Mar 12, 2013 12:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Being a snob is an expensive hobby.

Horacio
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 5:28 am

by Horacio

edited
Last edited by Horacio on Tue Mar 12, 2013 3:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

5 8 5
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:36 am
Location: UK

by 5 8 5

Horacio, I thinking you're jumping the gun. fdegrove is referring to the fact that KMC state that the 11spd quicklinks are use once and discard when opened. KMC state that the 10spd links are reusable.

This has been discussed in other threads with the general feeling that it's okay to reuse the 11spd links. You just have to monitor them to make sure the link still feels secure.

Horacio
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 5:28 am

by Horacio

You're right, I totally misread that post. Thanks for pointing that out. I will edit as such.

KLabs
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 4:29 am

by KLabs

and apologize to fdegrove is a good idea, also ... :)

Horacio
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 5:28 am

by Horacio

Well, he did edit what he originally posted to what he meant to convey.
My apologies to fdegrove.
Now back to topic.

fdegrove
Tubbie Guru
Posts: 5858
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Belgium

by fdegrove

Hi,

I only edited it this afternoon to change one into once.
Anyhow, no problem. Apologies accepted. :thumbup:

Ciao, ;)
Being a snob is an expensive hobby.

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post