Barrel Cable Adjustors?

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
User avatar
drjones96
Posts: 3722
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 10:56 pm
Location: Wichita, KS

by drjones96

Ok....a little complaint about my bike....
I own a C-Dale CAAD4. I like it but there is something that has bothered me every day since I've owned it. It doesn't have cable adjustors on the downtube so I can adjust my Der's on the Fly. It sucks sometimes...like yesterday. When I was in my top ring my adjustment was off on my FDer and the chain clattered against it....GRRRR. It wasn't that far out of adjustment but it was enough to upset me. The only solutions are to either pull off the road and wip out ye-ole-multi-tool or drop it in the low ring where it doesn't clatter. I chose the latter. So does anyone know of a simple solution to this. Is there a downtube cable adjustor that works on this frame?(this may be an easy question to answer but I don't know it)

TiMoots
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 6:38 pm

by TiMoots

You could try an in-line cable adjuster. I have seen them factory installed in some C-dales actually.

http://harriscyclery.net/site/itemdetai ... sort=Price

by Weenie


fdegrove
Tubbie Guru
Posts: 5851
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Belgium

by fdegrove

Hi,

It doesn't have cable adjustors on the downtube so I can adjust my Der's on the Fly.


It doesn't have cable lugs to route the der cables either?

If so, inline cable adjusters as per TiMoots' suggestion.
You can put these anywhere, even around the steerer area close to the shifter if you like.
Otherwise, a Shimano or Campa adjuster can be had as a spare part.

Ciao, :wink:
Last edited by fdegrove on Thu May 12, 2005 8:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Being a snob is an expensive hobby.

PNuT
Posts: 1332
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 6:33 pm

by PNuT

my caad5 frameset came with them

sharkman
Posts: 1400
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 8:32 pm
Location: the Netherlands

by sharkman

Giant offers inline adjusters in silver, cannondale in black but don't afterwards place a picture of your bike in this forum (they'll burn you for putting them on your bike :mrgreen: )
I put them on my competition bike (cr1) and like them.
Last edited by sharkman on Thu May 12, 2005 8:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
drjones96
Posts: 3722
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 10:56 pm
Location: Wichita, KS

by drjones96

Funny story....I think had those black inline jobbies on my bike before but I didn't realize you could adjust your cables with them...he he :oops:
I upgraded to DA7800 last year and when they installed the new cables....umm....no more barrel adjustors. :oops:

But truthfully I wish I had something like picture below. I like the way the Shimano brake caliper adjusters work and also the one on the RDer. They have like a spring loaded incremental clicking........know what I mean. I may be asking for too much I guess.
Attachments
kish_ti_headtube.jpg

mike
Resident Pro
Posts: 2446
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 9:42 pm

by mike

dr jones, check your pm....

honda
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 6:51 pm

by honda

I know Jag Wire makes several in-line derailleur cable adjusters, as mentioned in this thread, but along those lines, does anyone know of an in-line BRAKE cable adjuster?
Thanks,

fdegrove
Tubbie Guru
Posts: 5851
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Belgium

by fdegrove

Hi,

does anyone know of an in-line BRAKE cable adjuster?


Same thing...
All that's required for those adjusters is something to work against.
Be that a frame lug or the cable housing, both work fine.

Ciao, :wink:
Being a snob is an expensive hobby.

honda
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 6:51 pm

by honda

fdegrove wrote:Hi,

does anyone know of an in-line BRAKE cable adjuster?


Same thing...
All that's required for those adjusters is something to work against.
Be that a frame lug or the cable housing, both work fine.

Ciao, :wink:


right, but if it were to fail with a derailleur, you may just miss a shift. If it were to fail with your brakes, the outcome could be MUCH worse.
I was wondering if there is anything out there designed specifically for brake cable adjustment (like a little stronger than the derailleur styles)?
Thanks

User avatar
drjones96
Posts: 3722
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 10:56 pm
Location: Wichita, KS

by drjones96

honda wrote:right, but if it were to fail with a derailleur, you may just miss a shift. If it were to fail with your brakes, the outcome could be MUCH worse.
I was wondering if there is anything out there designed specifically for brake cable adjustment (like a little stronger than the derailleur styles)?
Thanks

This says for use with rear brake.....
http://harriscyclery.net/site/itemdetai ... B2&ID=1061

fdegrove
Tubbie Guru
Posts: 5851
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 2:20 am
Location: Belgium

by fdegrove

Hi,

If it were to fail with your brakes, the outcome could be MUCH worse.


What could possibly fail?
If it slips, you're back to your starting position.
Granted, all the brake adjusters I've seen so far are meant to be used for fine adjustment when you're NOT on the bike riding it.

Still haven't seen a single one mocking up though.

Ciao, :wink:
Being a snob is an expensive hobby.

honda
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 6:51 pm

by honda

drjones96 wrote:
honda wrote:right, but if it were to fail with a derailleur, you may just miss a shift. If it were to fail with your brakes, the outcome could be MUCH worse.
I was wondering if there is anything out there designed specifically for brake cable adjustment (like a little stronger than the derailleur styles)?
Thanks

This says for use with rear brake.....
http://harriscyclery.net/site/itemdetai ... B2&ID=1061


OK,
It looks like it's made from plated steel, so not light, but designed for braking, so a lot stronger.
I will look into this...
thank you!
If you know of any others out there, please let me know...

honda
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 6:51 pm

by honda

fdegrove wrote:Hi,

If it were to fail with your brakes, the outcome could be MUCH worse.


What could possibly fail?
If it slips, you're back to your starting position.
Granted, all the brake adjusters I've seen so far are meant to be used for fine adjustment when you're NOT on the bike riding it.

Still haven't seen a single one mocking up though.

Ciao, :wink:


Nor have I,
It would just be un-nerving...
Thanks though

mises
Posts: 1769
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2003 9:28 pm
Location: Unknown parameter

by mises

BTP makes some cable adjusters too.

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post