New powermeter rumours

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.

Moderator: robbosmans

robertbb
Posts: 1616
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:35 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

by robertbb

Is this your first power meter? Do you know how to properly calibrate... (no pressure on the pedals..., cranks at 12 and 6 o'clock positions... then hit "calibrate"). Have you tried calibrating from a head unit? The Assiomas should return a value of '0'.

Berzin1
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 9:35 pm

by Berzin1

robertbb wrote:
Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:52 am
Is this your first power meter?

Yes.

robertbb wrote:
Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:52 am
Do you know how to properly calibrate... (no pressure on the pedals..., cranks at 12 and 6 o'clock positions... then hit "calibrate").
Yes. I've done it many times over the last two days and have gotten nothing but the same error message.

robertbb wrote:
Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:52 am
Have you tried calibrating from a head unit? The Assiomas should return a value of '0'.
What do you mean head unit? Do you mean from the Wahoo Elemnt?
Last edited by Berzin1 on Wed Feb 20, 2019 2:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

by Weenie


dricked
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 1:57 pm

by dricked

I’ve had the calibration error before and it seemed it had something to do with my HRM, phone, and pedals all trying to sync at once to my garmin. I’d turn my garmin off/on and wait for everything to sync before starting to calibrate.

Berzin1
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 9:35 pm

by Berzin1

I took the chargers off the pedals and it said they are now calibrated. The Assioma appears on my Wahoo but when I get on the bike I get no readings. Nothing starts up except for the time.

No hrm, no power meter, no mph, no nothing.

TobinHatesYou
Posts: 6852
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:02 pm

by TobinHatesYou

Sounds like you need to RTFM (or a few of them.)

robertbb
Posts: 1616
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:35 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

by robertbb

TobinHatesYou wrote:
Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:35 pm
Sounds like you need to RTFM (or a few of them.)
:lol:

Berzin1
Posts: 173
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 9:35 pm

by Berzin1

I have. All of them. More than once. And guess what? I'm not the only one with these issues.

gwilson
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2018 3:41 am
Location: Canada

by gwilson

I've got a chance at a really good deal on a Stages power meter but it's a gen 2. I remember there were problems at the time with them connecting to Garmin 520s (which I have). Was this issue simply fixed by the Gen 3 stages power meters, or did the gen 2 power meters get the firmware update as well that helped with connectivity?

petal666
Posts: 897
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:19 am
Location: Brisbane, Oz
Contact:

by petal666

I've never had any issues.

deepakvrao
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 4:44 am

by deepakvrao

robertbb wrote:
Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:52 am
Is this your first power meter? Do you know how to properly calibrate... (no pressure on the pedals..., cranks at 12 and 6 o'clock positions... then hit "calibrate"). Have you tried calibrating from a head unit? The Assiomas should return a value of '0'.
How is that cranks at 12 and 6 important? Do they have say that anywhere? I've only come across this on forums, and never on any official publication.

petal666
Posts: 897
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:19 am
Location: Brisbane, Oz
Contact:

by petal666

deepakvrao wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 1:51 am

How is that cranks at 12 and 6 important? Do they have say that anywhere? I've only come across this on forums, and never on any official publication.
Weight of the pedal causing strain on the gauges. 12-6 is pretty standard/mandatory

dricked
Posts: 190
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 1:57 pm

by dricked

Also says it in the manual.

TobinHatesYou
Posts: 6852
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:02 pm

by TobinHatesYou

deepakvrao wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 1:51 am

How is that cranks at 12 and 6 important? Do they have say that anywhere? I've only come across this on forums, and never on any official publication.

For Stages single-sided, they want 6 o'clock. For Assioma Duo, it's 12/6. For Garmin Vector 2 and 3 it's 3/9. These PMs will even return errors if they sense the wrong orientation.

For Quarq it's 12/6, but it won't return an error if in another orientation. I also haven't noticed any accuracy issues zeroing them in a random orientation.

AndreLM
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:53 pm

by AndreLM

4iiii is announcing something on April 1st

https://twitter.com/4iiiicom/status/111 ... 21344?s=19

Enviado de meu SM-G950F usando o Tapatalk


AZR3
Posts: 914
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 9:00 pm
Location: Az USA

by AZR3

April fools “announcement” .......hmmm

by Weenie


Post Reply