Tillquist's kitchen!

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
szazbo
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 6:26 am

by szazbo

I agree that the Fetha adjustable mount is chunky, though they have slimmed it down a lot in their redesigns. The "chunky" mount is flat on the bottom to mount the junction box. The 14g Fetha mount is pretty cool looking though IMO. I used 3M trim tape from a body shop and the mount has stayed in place for 2 years

I found a Tillquist Di2 photo:
Image

And the Fetha 14g mount:
Image

User avatar
kfreytag
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 9:42 pm
Location: Oakland, CA

by kfreytag

So, what do we think of this? http://www.f3cycling.com/products-for-cyclists (other than the fact that it's heavy)
Life's too short to ride clinchers.

Current:
Parlee Z-Zero ISP
Santa Cruz Stigmata CC

Past:
Ridley X-Fire Disc

User avatar
Stolichnaya
Posts: 2621
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 6:55 pm
Location: Vienna, AUT

by Stolichnaya

F3: Seems like a good effort as they only need to produce one mount to fit a myriad of stem bolt spacing patterns.
There may be some compatibility if they designed it to take a number of different stem bolt diameter, in that a mount designed to take a larger diameter stem bolt may not seat properly against a stem faceplate that takes smaller bolts. (cough, Syntace, cough). However, it seems they did their homework and from the photos the mount appears to suit a number of trendy stem designs.

While you are not looking for weight comments it needs to be mentioned. I did not catch the weight on the site anywhere, but it does look portly. The design looks like it could be lightened up in a V 2.0 though. However, the added weight in V 1.0 may translate into a robust mount that can manage a lot of add-ons like camera, light, etc. without flexing too much.

But at that price point and weight, I can't see the reasoning to use this F3 over my current set up of a Tillquist Garmin mount (original design) on the stem and a simple Raceware GoPro band mount on the bar.

GJMadone069
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 11:24 am
Location: Ghent Belgium

by GJMadone069

Is there a mount for deda 100 stem?

dreale
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:45 am

by dreale

mine for my 3T stem arrived today, looks stunning!!

sussexhills
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:31 am

by sussexhills

Loads of mounts back in stock on the website including the Ritchey c260 faceplate. Price just went up from 55eur to 70 though :shock:

Ordered a few days ago, looking forward to mounting up on my Ritchey carbon streem aerobar.

Butcher
Shop Owner
Posts: 838
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:58 am

by Butcher

After a few months, I got my two! I just got to get off my butt and start riding again.

NiFTY
Posts: 1125
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 11:26 pm

by NiFTY

Any chances of an mcfk mount?
Evo 5.02kg SL3 6.77 Slice RS 8.89 viewtopic.php?f=10&t=110579" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Tillquist
Posts: 1593
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 3:33 pm
Contact:

by Tillquist

A lots of New Garmin Edge Mount i stock today.

http://www.edge-mount.bike

Image

Image

Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Last edited by Tillquist on Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
See all my bike h e r e

CallumRD1
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2017 2:54 pm

by CallumRD1

The URL isn't working for me.

User avatar
torob
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 2:28 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario

by torob

CallumRD1 wrote:The URL isn't working for me.


swap the g and d
Using Tapatalk

AndreLM
Posts: 269
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:53 pm

by AndreLM

Tillquist wrote:A lots of New Garmin Edge Mount i stock today.


Excellent timing! Sent an e-mail through the webform just a few minutes before your post. I will place the order soon.

Kumppa
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 10:05 am

by Kumppa

Would be nice if you would add weight information on your site.

Tillquist
Posts: 1593
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 3:33 pm
Contact:

by Tillquist

Kumppa wrote:Would be nice if you would add weight information on your site.


Yes thats right.

But there is some weight info under the main picture on each mount
See all my bike h e r e

kode54
Posts: 1184
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:39 pm

by kode54

how is the Di2 junction box fitted under a Tillquist mount? i have the v.1 and v.2 mounts and still have to zip tie it to the neck of the mount.
- AX Lightness Vial EVO D + DA9150 + Enve SES 3.4 carbon hubs
- Parlee Altum + DA9150 + Enve SES 4.5 carbon hubs
- Parlee ESX + DA9150 + THM SRM PM + Enve SES 6.7 CK hubs
- Independent Fabrication Ti FLW + DA9100 + Enve 3.4 CK hubs

Post Reply