11 speed Dura ace Di2 shifters compatible with 11 speed Ulte

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
jorisee01
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 8:22 pm

by jorisee01

I came across a post on WW where someone stated 11 speed DA Di2 shifters worked flawlessly with Ultegra 11 speed Di2 parts. I can't seem to find that post anymore.

Could someone tell me more about the (in)compatibility of different parts?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

by Weenie


goodboyr
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Location: Canada

by goodboyr

They do. No issue. Of course as a matter of practice, always ensure you've got latest firmware for all components.

damond
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 12:47 pm

by damond

It works. Even Ultegra 6770 shifters do work with 11sp Ultegra (6870) and Dura Ace (9010)!

Just make sure you are using the latest firmware.

jorisee01
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 8:22 pm

by jorisee01

So I can even buy a set of used 6770 shifters with a 11 speed derailleur?

Is it also possible to upgrade a 10 speed derailleur to 11 speed through firmware?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ritxis
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 3:00 pm
Location: San Sebastian

by Ritxis

jorisee01 wrote:So I can even buy a set of used 6770 shifters with a 11 speed derailleur?

Is it also possible to upgrade a 10 speed derailleur to 11 speed through firmware?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


St-6770 with 11 speed derailleur? Yes, I have used st-6700 with Fd-6870 and Rd-9070


Is it also possible to upgrade a 10 speed derailleur to 11 speed through firmware? It is not possible to update

jorisee01
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 8:22 pm

by jorisee01

Ok thanks. Clear.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

aaric
Posts: 439
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 4:10 pm

by aaric

Di2 compatibility down to a few rules

1) if its not e-tube, it only works with itself. See Dura-ace 7970.
2) Match the derailleurs for discipline, and speed. (road vs mtb, 10 vs 11 speed) (older firmware versions can mix 10s and 11s, but shimano patched that out)
3) Use any shifters, batteries or junctions you want assuming you update the firmware. Old external batteries need to be updated with an older programmer once -most shops with the box will do it for free/beer money. afterwards you can use the newer interface.
4) plug whatever you want into any port (except the keyed sprint shifter ports on the ST-6870/9070 STI shifters)
5) Use only one battery.

jorisee01
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 8:22 pm

by jorisee01

Thanks aaric! Very helpful!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

aaric
Posts: 439
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 4:10 pm

by aaric

Forgot one:

6) You need at least one A junction in the system (the junction with the button to put it into adjust mode). You can run multiple A junctions, but shimano's software won't let you muck with any settings with more than one A junction connected.

Multebear
Posts: 978
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 10:11 pm

by Multebear

I have a 6770 10-speed ultegra groupset, that I'm using with 11-speed 9070 dura ace shifters. Works perfectly. Didn't do any update or anything. Just plug and play.

jorisee01
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 8:22 pm

by jorisee01

Is it possible to use the SM-ew67 junction with the 11 speed derailleur if you use an external battery?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

aaric
Posts: 439
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 4:10 pm

by aaric

Yes. There's a Felt AR thread where SuperDave (A Felt's PR guy) documents it working, as the ew67 is easier to hide.

jorisee01
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 8:22 pm

by jorisee01

You mean this thread? http://www.tririg.com/articles.php?id=2 ... ing&page=3


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

aaric
Posts: 439
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 4:10 pm

by aaric

thought it was in viewtopic.php?f=3&t=118212&hilit=junction, but I can't seem to find it now...

aaric
Posts: 439
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 4:10 pm

by aaric

Regardles, http://e-tubeproject.shimano.com/pdf/20 ... art_en.pdf says it will work.

And I bet it would work with an internal battery, you'd just not be able to charge it :shock:

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post