Did the Aethos put a nail in the Roubaix coffin (for now); forcing Specialized to redesign it in the future??

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

gSporco

by gSporco

I am new to the world of Specialized... I recently built an Aethos, non Sworks Frameset. I am coming from a Cervelo Aspero as my everything bike.. I like to build bikes and try new stuff and being as I am riding 90% tarmac I decided on something more dedicated to long days in the saddle, as well as a bike that looks very traditional..

Comparing both the Aspero and the Aethos, using the same wheelset at first running 35mm Gravelking slicks I was taken back on how comfortable the Aethos is. I didnt realize how stiff "feeling" the Aspero is/ was for me.. I then picked up some supple 28mm tires for the Aethos to further my experimentation and couldn't believe how comfy this combo is.. But I digress, just setting the stage.

The topic at hand, why would you get a Roubaix, when the Aethos is so comfy and has racier geometry compared to the more relaxed Roubaix.
My back of the napkin comparison doesnt balance out between these two bikes.

Aethos: Has more tire clearance (I tested 35mm and 36mm with good clearance), is very compliant and has Specialized Tarmac Geometry, can be built lite without fancy parts.
Roubaix: Limited to 32-33mm tires, Relaxed geo, yes its more Aero in some areas, but the cockpit is probably less aero than the Aethos.

I understand the Roubaix was designed for Paris Roubaix, but it seems a bit dated now.. If I was a pro, and I am not, I think I would opt for an Aethos for Paris Roubaix. Probably build it with triple wrap bar tape and 32mm hell of the north tires.. Aero wouldnt be a concern as the Peloton would surely provide enough coverage from the wind, and the bike is damn comfy and lite.