"Lightness" vs "Aeroness" UPDATED 10/2023

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

iflyadesk

by iflyadesk

When I saw this from Specialized selling the Tarmac SL7, it was really persuasive because it nailed exactly what I love about my Canyon Aeroad. Most aero bikes are too heavy (and stiff) and most light bikes don't care enough about aero. I thought of the Canyon Aeroad as the only "middle ground" bike available on the market. What Specialized implies with this chart is the new Tarmac SL7 is not a "middle ground" but a "best of both worlds" and oh my goodness was it hard for me not to click BUY NOW!

Of course, $12k (+ 10% tax) is a lot of money, so it forced me to use my cerebral cortex instead of just my limbic system. As an engineer, I'm always suspicious of dimensonless charts. But they are making claims that can be backed by numbers we have (thanks to Tour Magazine). So, I created my own "aeroness vs lightness" chart for bikes that I could find Tour Mag data. It's only as good as the data, and it doesn't take things like seat post stiffness into consideration (which I find very important -> hated my 2016 Giant Propel because it beat the hell out of me), but it's something to look at and chat about regardless.

AUG 18, 2020 EDIT: Added rim brake bikes, a guess at model years, fixed some errors, removed the link to Google Sheets because Excel is so much better at labeling and breaking out series.

AUG 23, 2020 EDIT: I think one way to better capture the "right tradeoffs" is to make the slope of the lines on the chart match the equivalent lightness vs aeroness based on a model.

AUG 27, 2020 EDIT: I just realized the original chart from Specialized included the Venge Vias and 1st Gen Venge but my chart did not, so I figured I should add them for completeness.

I was not a Tour Mag reader in Feb 2015 so I totally missed this explanation of their model and how they determine tradeoff between light and aero: