New to me, thru axles.

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

jlok

by jlok

If the axle is made of steel, I'd give it a thin coat of grease to prevent rusting. Plus it slides in smoother that way.
Rikulau V9 DB Custom < BMC TM02 < Litespeed T1sl Disc < Giant Propel Advanced SL Disc 1 < Propel Adv < TCR Adv SL Disc < KTM Revelator Sky < CAAD 12 Disc < Domane S Disc < Alize < CAAD 10

okimy

by okimy

The axle on my Canyon came lubed on the thread and shaft so I'd also lube both.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Bigger Gear

by Bigger Gear

I was a newb to them about 18 months ago. I lube the threads and put a very thin film of grease on the shaft as well.

Wait until you have your first rear flat in miserable weather and then judge the thru axle experience. Add in fenders, a Shimano Dura-Ace 9100 rear derailleur, big tires. The combo of fender, tire and rear derailleur really makes putting the wheel in the dropout a PITA. And don't forget that 6mm hex wrench in your saddle bag!!!

Frankie - B
Admin - In the industry

by Frankie - B

In my experience, it is enough to only lube the threads with a bit of assembly paste.
'Tape was made to wrap your GF's gifts, NOT hold a freakin tire on.'
If you want to see 'meh' content of me and my bike you can follow my life in pictures here!

TobinHatesYou

by TobinHatesYou

jlok wrote:
Thu Oct 31, 2019 10:16 am
If the axle is made of steel, I'd give it a thin coat of grease to prevent rusting. Plus it slides in smoother that way.

Are there actually any road bike TAs made of steel?

Bigger Gear

by Bigger Gear

Juanmoretime wrote:
Thu Oct 31, 2019 10:55 pm
Bigger Gear wrote:
Thu Oct 31, 2019 7:43 pm
I was a newb to them about 18 months ago. I lube the threads and put a very thin film of grease on the shaft as well.