Campagnolo EPS V4 Internal Interface mate to V3 Components ?

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
nismosr
Posts: 1141
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 5:15 pm

by nismosr

anyone ever experimented on pairing an EPS V4 internal interface to a V3 battery and components ..
will it work with some errors or zero movement ?
- 2018 Colnago V2-R TNMR - Campagnolo SR EPS - Lightweight Gen III - P2Max
- 2017 Colnago Concept CHDB - Campagnolo SR EPS - Bora One 50 - Deda Superzero - Stages
- 2015 Cipollini RB800 - Campagnolo Athena EPS - Bora One 35 - P2Max

Butcher
Shop Owner
Posts: 1023
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:58 am

by Butcher

v4 is 12sp, right? It was my understanding that everything would bolt/connect up but the system is smart enough to stop it from working an 11sp set up.

How does it do this? I suspect it's in the interface. I have not a clue but someone credible will chim in I hope.

by Weenie


nismosr
Posts: 1141
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 5:15 pm

by nismosr

Butcher wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 3:32 pm
v4 is 12sp, right? It was my understanding that everything would bolt/connect up but the system is smart enough to stop it from working an 11sp set up.

How does it do this? I suspect it's in the interface. I have not a clue but someone credible will chim in I hope.
yes V4 is 12 and all connectors are basically the same.
- 2018 Colnago V2-R TNMR - Campagnolo SR EPS - Lightweight Gen III - P2Max
- 2017 Colnago Concept CHDB - Campagnolo SR EPS - Bora One 50 - Deda Superzero - Stages
- 2015 Cipollini RB800 - Campagnolo Athena EPS - Bora One 35 - P2Max

Seedster
Posts: 584
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 11:05 pm

by Seedster

I heard it will all connect, but throw up error codes. The battery can distinguish the interfaces or vice versa

I recommend making your own interface. The mechanic who did it for me lowered his prices and has some pre built and ready to go. He recently joined the forum so just send him a PM.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

nismosr
Posts: 1141
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 5:15 pm

by nismosr

Seedster wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:36 pm
I heard it will all connect, but throw up error codes. The battery can distinguish the interfaces or vice versa

I recommend making your own interface. The mechanic who did it for me lowered his prices and has some pre built and ready to go. He recently joined the forum so just send him a PM.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Saw his posting but at $400 for a v3 internal is a little of my budget, probably get a v3 interface and hack it get the internals and see what my assy dept at work can do lol
- 2018 Colnago V2-R TNMR - Campagnolo SR EPS - Lightweight Gen III - P2Max
- 2017 Colnago Concept CHDB - Campagnolo SR EPS - Bora One 50 - Deda Superzero - Stages
- 2015 Cipollini RB800 - Campagnolo Athena EPS - Bora One 35 - P2Max

Seedster
Posts: 584
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 11:05 pm

by Seedster

yeah better to get a used v3 internal and hackathon. trying to adopt the necessary v4 wiring kit and handlebar DTI will cost around $300 anyhow so better off with the V3 route!

if successful, consider documenting it in a thread.

liam7020
Posts: 1034
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:04 am

by liam7020

Seedster wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:36 pm
I recommend making your own interface. The mechanic who did it for me lowered his prices and has some pre built and ready to go. He recently joined the forum so just send him a PM.
Is this Ed?
Tarmac SL6 & Campag Record EPS https://weightweenies.starbike.com/foru ... 0&t=153968

"Sometimes you don't need a plan. You just need big balls." Tom Boonen

Seedster
Posts: 584
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 11:05 pm

by Seedster

Ed is the mechanic who made it for me

liam7020
Posts: 1034
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:04 am

by liam7020

Cheers, I've been speaking to him about getting this mod on my V3. Only problem is that I'm in the UK so would have to ship my unit to Ed and then get it shipped back. I would like it done but don;t want to pay a fortune in custom duties!
Tarmac SL6 & Campag Record EPS https://weightweenies.starbike.com/foru ... 0&t=153968

"Sometimes you don't need a plan. You just need big balls." Tom Boonen

ParisCarbon
Posts: 1459
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 5:39 am
Location: Winnipeg Canada

by ParisCarbon

All the connections are the same... it'll puke codes like mentioned... the only thing really 100% compatible between v3 and V4 is the battery charger...

by Weenie


cafigueroav
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 2:12 pm

by cafigueroav

Seedster wrote:
Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:36 pm
I heard it will all connect, but throw up error codes. The battery can distinguish the interfaces or vice versa

I recommend making your own interface. The mechanic who did it for me lowered his prices and has some pre built and ready to go. He recently joined the forum so just send him a PM.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hey man, how can I contact your mechanic? I'm interested in this.

Cheers !

Post Reply