Understeer Whilst Cornering

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

hlvd

by hlvd

I can only compare this to a car understeering whilst cornering.

When I corner sometimes at speed my bike will want to run on and not follow the corner.

I’m not a pro so my bike skills aren’t amazing so I take full responsibility but is there a reason a bike would do that, do some turn in quicker, or is it just the rider?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

DaveS

by DaveS

Anyone who has had motorcycle training learns that coutersteering is required to make a bike lean and turn. The first thing that I learned in my motorcycle training course was to push on the right side of the bars (which turns the wheel to the left). The bike will then lean right and turn right. The more you push, the greater the lean and the tighter the turn.

With a road bike that has hooked bars, is not quite as simple and the force required to turn the bars is very small, compared to a motorcycle. The principles are the same, however. The most common misconception is that countersteering only starts the turn and after that, the bike will continue to turn. That is not the case. It's real obvious with a motorcyle that requires a lot more force to turn, particularly at high speed. If you push on the right side of the bars to make a right turn and the turn is not tight enough, push harder to force the wheel to turn left. If you quit pushing, the bike will quit turning, immediately.