Cannondale supersix himod headset issue

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Roy2018

by Roy2018

Hi, I have a new ss himod 2018 which rides superbly but suffers from headset wobble when braking. When stationary, holding front brake and moving back and forth, there is no movement.

Anyone else experience a similar issue? Any solutions?

Thanks.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

skyliner1004

by skyliner1004

i'm no mechanic, but it maye help if you disclose: Rim brake or disc? I suspect rim. If so, check your front brake tightness and pads. Also potentially you're feeling a vibration from your Rim track on your wheels.
2018 Supersix Evo Hi-Mod Disc Dura-Ace
Conti SS + Gp5000
3t Ernova Team
Garmin 520 Plus
Look Keo Blade 2 Carbon Ti
15lb 15oz

Roy2018

by Roy2018

It's rim.

kgt

by kgt

Cannondale frames have poor manufacturing tolerances in general. This might be a reason.

Jugi

by Jugi

What does headset wobble mean? Vibration? Loose or vague feeling? Clicking or creaking sound?

ToughInTheStreets

by ToughInTheStreets

I don't have hands on experience with this issue, but I did watch this video on the topic a few months ago. Here's the link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jfW_iimqsTk

Hope it helps identify your problem. I hate the feeling of a wonky headset.

samarskyrider

by samarskyrider

Subscribe

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

tarmackev

by tarmackev

It’s common, the plastic headset compression ring. It works loose, plenty of alloy versions available.
Best bet is to ask a local bike shop, chances are they have a spare. Take your plastic one in to get a size reference.

skyliner1004

by skyliner1004

kgt wrote:
Sun Jul 28, 2019 9:42 am
Cannondale frames have poor manufacturing tolerances in general. This might be a reason.