Thoughts on Emonda SL h2?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Geodroid

by Geodroid

Planning to build up and emonda sl frame. I'm pretty new to all this, currently have a domane AL (not alr) entry level bike and definitely want something nicer but not super expensive. What do you guys think of the emonda sl h2? All this time I thought it was the best bang for buck bike, but I saw some posts saying its an "aero brick" and apprently not a good choice?

What would you guys recommend for me in this cateogry of bikes?

I thought the emonda would be the best bike to buy.

thanks

Is the Emonda SLR more aero than the SL? Do you guys rate the SLR? I'm not ready to spend that kind of money, so you reckon' I should get the SL for now and then maybe look at an SLR 5-10 years down the road?

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Calnago
In Memoriam

by Calnago

Ok, aero brick analogy aside, I think the Emonda SL is a fine bike. So much so I bought one when they came out in 2014. I actually got it for use as a dedicated rain bike, but stripped it down from the 105 stuff it had on it and rebuilt it with Campy SR for a final weight just under 6.8kg. I eventually did put full fenders on it and it is now serving a valued dedicated life as my rain bike, on those days when it looks like it might be necessary and if I'm feeling like venturing out. Here's the build thread if you haven't seen it...viewtopic.php?f=10&t=131213