Help picking my next bike

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Glow

by Glow

I started riding three seasons ago when I bought a Bianchi 928 HoC iasp which I'm still riding. I'm not currently racing but it's something I'm looking to get into soon. Time has come for me to buy another bike. There are so many brands and models on the market and I have a hard time narrowing it down. My budget ceiling is around 6000 USD/euro although I won't complain if the bike is less than that. I have a pair of 42 mm Reynolds rims if that factor into any decision. My local terrain is predominantly flat and hilly, no mountains sadly. The bike doesn't have to be full out aero but it needs to have aero in mind. I would prefer a more responsive bike with great handling over three watts saved from less aerodynamic drag. Do I go for mechanical or electronic shifting? Please help me narrow the market down and advice me on what bikes to look further into.

Thank you in advance for your help and time.

bm0p700f
in the industry

by bm0p700f

Mechanical will allow a more expensive frame or flashier finishing kit.

You have enough money for a custom frame or off the peg almost anything.

With no idea what floats your boat where do we begin.

Steel, carbon or titanium.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

dim

by dim

if I had 6000 USD, I'd be looking at a used Trek Madone 9.0 with Di2 or Sram Red and use the change to buy some decent accesories such as a Garmin, good shoes etc etc ... a proper bike fit aswell as go on a good holiday abroad

Trek Emonda SL6
Miyata One Thousand

DJT21

by DJT21

dim wrote:
Sat May 25, 2019 9:20 pm