Speedplay - Slop

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Darceking

by Darceking

I have been using Speedplay for about 4 years now, never had a great deal of problems with them. Recently I have been getting alot of tightness up the left side of my leg starting from the ankle, muscle on the outside of the shin is tight and quad is locking up. WHen I pedal, it feels like my foot wants to roll outwards. I have attached a link to the amount of play in cleat / pedal. These cleats are new ( 5 months old ) . Pedals are about 3 years old.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

pdlpsher1

by pdlpsher1

This is due to the pedal body being worn around the edge. You can maybe buy new pedal bodies from SP. They will come with bearings already pressed in. You just remove the old bodies and slip the new ones onto your spindles.

Or you could just upgrade to Dura Ace pedals and live forever happily

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Darceking

by Darceking

So you think its the body of the pedal thats worn ? I thought maybe I had bent the cleats and that was causing the slop.

I have actually purchased DA9100 pedals yesterday as I am just sick of the up keep of the Speedplay and this problem pushed me over the edge. Maybe I should have just got new bodies for them instead. Hopfully DA Pedals make me happy :)

Darceking

by Darceking

Just checked all the big online retailers. Merlin, CR, WIggle, Bike Bug etc and no one sells just the body. Need to buy a whole new pedal . Which is not idea because I use the 56mm Spindles, not the standard 52.

Hexsense

by Hexsense

I actually had this problem before but not to this level.
After changing the pedal body, it is as good as new.