Bottom Bracket

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

WorkonSunday

by WorkonSunday

Dear all, I have a 2012 Merida Scultura which has some 105 (10 speed) bits. I recently got hold of a set of SRAM Force 22. As far as i can tell the bike has a threaded bottom bracket (review says: "The frame uses a regular screw fit BB"), any idea if the crank will fit? (im quite new to SRAM stuff, i think there are two different designs? BB30 vs GXP? any idea how i can tell?) Many thanks.
Some say pour 10ml water out of your bottle to save that last bit of the weight. Sorry, i go one step further, i tend to the rider off my bikes. :thumbup:
n+1...14 last time i checked, but i lost count :mrgreen:

1415chris

by 1415chris

If spindle appearance doesn't tell you anything, just measure it's diameter. BB30 has 30mm, GXP 24/22mm.
You have a good chance that neither of these cranks will fit without new bottom bracket.
What crankset is on the bike right now?

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

TobinHatesYou

by TobinHatesYou

If the spindle is permanently attached to the DS crankarm, it's GXP. It will also be hollow on that side. If there is a hex interface on the DS, then it's 30mm.

Attermann

by Attermann

TobinHatesYou wrote:
Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:56 am
If the spindle is permanently attached to the DS crankarm, it's GXP. It will also be hollow on that side. If there is a hex interface on the DS, then it's 30mm.
some of the early BB30 versions had the spindle attached to the drive side like GXP

filip00

by filip00

Spindle being attached means nothing.

Short differences that'll help you out:
On the frameset
-is the bearing external or internal? If internal, it might be BB30 or PF30.
-if the bearing is external, it's probably threaded. If it's threaded, you gotta check if it's ITA or BSA thread - I'm guessing it's BSA.