Are We Getting A New Cannondale Supersix?

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.

Moderator: robbosmans

req110
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:23 am

by req110

I doubt it's possible. Holes are very very small. So you have to either route them externally through the two other holes there, or drill the internal holes bigger and risk damage.

by Weenie


Nefarious86
Moderator
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 4:57 am

by Nefarious86

What's the best Axle option for these at the moment ?

Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk

Using Tapatalk

User avatar
Dan Gerous
Posts: 1953
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 6:28 pm

by Dan Gerous

Nefarious86 wrote:
Tue Oct 20, 2020 8:11 pm
What's the best Axle option for these at the moment ?

Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk
The lightest AFAIK are the Robert Axle Project (I weighed mine at 62.4gr for the pair).

But the stock bolt-on Cannondale axles are pretty good too, just a few grams more (69.6gr for the pair with the O-rings so they they don't slide out of the hubs) but they keep the Speed-Release feature of only having to slide them by around an inch to take the wheels off, the RAP ones have to be removed completely before you can drop the wheels.

rmr40
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 9:32 pm

by rmr40

My EVO 3 now updated with 35mm Feders/DT 240s EXP

6780g

Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Jackofallgrades
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2019 10:15 am

by Jackofallgrades

That's exactly the wheelset I've been eyeing up... They look good. Oh and review please! :smartass: :beerchug:
Cannondale SSEvo3 'Agaaaaaaaavé' - 7.5kg
...Work in Progress viewtopic.php?f=10&t=161634

rmr40
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 9:32 pm

by rmr40

Jackofallgrades wrote:That's exactly the wheelset I've been eyeing up... They look good. Oh and review please! :smartass: :beerchug:
Too early to tell, only had a few rides round the block..stiffness seems good.. 1257g out the box, rear slightly out of true but nothing that can’t be sorted..the new EXP hubs are very loud! 5 weeks From Order to UK delivery..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ChiZ01
Posts: 412
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 6:20 pm

by ChiZ01

those are great price for dt240s exp wheelset, they must have sourced the hubs for dirt cheap

pmprego
Posts: 846
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:16 pm

by pmprego

rmr40 wrote:
Sun Oct 25, 2020 5:39 pm
My EVO 3 now updated with 35mm Feders/DT 240s EXP

6780g

Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I've just started looking at this bike... From the website the 105 version has the cables going inside the downtube but from your photo it goes inside the headtube. Is your frame not the "105 version"?
Thanks

req110
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2018 10:23 am

by req110

Mechanical cables go through down tube, unless you have some special conversion 3d printed 3rd party hack.

On the picture is bike on sram red etap, so he is handling only hydraulic hoses, not shifting.

Nicely looking bike.

pmprego
Posts: 846
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:16 pm

by pmprego

req110 wrote:
Thu Oct 29, 2020 5:15 pm
Mechanical cables go through down tube, unless you have some special conversion 3d printed 3rd party hack.

On the picture is bike on sram red etap, so he is handling only hydraulic hoses, not shifting.

Nicely looking bike.
His bike makes total sense... yeah.

I got rushed because I saw a photo of one to sell that is running 105 (mechanical, of course) and has all the cables going through the headtube. No I wonder if it is some type of hack that you've mentioned.

I'll add another question... I've been searching the thread and I saw someone stating that a 51 size can only accomodate 71cm of BB-saddle height. Can people confirm this?

My saddle height is around 75cm but that is to the top of the saddle. I guess to the rails should be some 3cm less. Still above that 71 figure...

Hexsense
Posts: 1541
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 12:41 am

by Hexsense

pmprego wrote:
Thu Oct 29, 2020 5:32 pm
I'll add another question... I've been searching the thread and I saw someone stating that a 51 size can only accomodate 71cm of BB-saddle height. Can people confirm this?

My saddle height is around 75cm but that is to the top of the saddle. I guess to the rails should be some 3cm less. Still above that 71 figure...
It should allow more.

My size 48 can already do 69cm with a low stack saddle (~2cm) and it is not close to the extension limit of the carbon seatpost.
Size 51 has 3.9cm longer seat tube. Just guesstimate it, you have 47.7cm seat tube. 330mm seatpost. Let assume almost 1/3 overlap where about 10cm of seatpost is in the seat tube.
That already put your seatpost end at 70.7cm with almost 1/3 of the seatpost inside the seat tube.

I guess alloy seatpost allow less extension (more seatpost must be inside the frame) than carbon one. That might explain the conservative number.

pmprego
Posts: 846
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:16 pm

by pmprego

Hexsense wrote:
Thu Oct 29, 2020 5:55 pm
pmprego wrote:
Thu Oct 29, 2020 5:32 pm
I'll add another question... I've been searching the thread and I saw someone stating that a 51 size can only accomodate 71cm of BB-saddle height. Can people confirm this?

My saddle height is around 75cm but that is to the top of the saddle. I guess to the rails should be some 3cm less. Still above that 71 figure...
It should allow more.

My size 48 can already do 69cm with a low stack saddle (~2cm) and it is not close to the extension limit of the carbon seatpost.
Size 51 has 3.9cm longer seat tube. Just guesstimate it, you have 47.7cm seat tube. 330mm seatpost. Let assume almost 1/3 overlap where about 10cm of seatpost is in the seat tube.
That already put your seatpost end at 70.7cm with almost 1/3 of the seatpost inside the seat tube.

I guess alloy seatpost allow less extension (more seatpost must be inside the frame) than carbon one. That might explain the conservative number.
Cool. Thanks!

I could have thought about that. I was clearly lazy. Thanks for the help

ingenieur
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 30, 2017 12:02 am

by ingenieur

req110 wrote:
Thu Oct 29, 2020 5:15 pm
Mechanical cables go through down tube, unless you have some special conversion 3d printed 3rd party hack.

On the picture is bike on sram red etap, so he is handling only hydraulic hoses, not shifting.

Nicely looking bike.
You don't need a special conversion hack to put the cables inside downtube. I'm using sram red mechanical in my bike with the cables inside downtube.
Image

Hexsense
Posts: 1541
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 12:41 am

by Hexsense

But then you run whole length housing, isn't it?
Most adapter allow you to stop the cable housing at the adapter piece. Just run bare cable to the bottom bracket.

by Weenie


pmprego
Posts: 846
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:16 pm

by pmprego

Hexsense wrote:
Thu Oct 29, 2020 10:56 pm
But then you run whole length housing, isn't it?
Most adapter allow you to stop the cable housing at the adapter piece. Just run bare cable to the bottom bracket.
What adapter are you referring to?

Post Reply