'Fake' Lightweight Meilenstein Clinchers??

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Byskov

by Byskov

Hi WW,

I'm in negotiations with a guy about buying a nice set of Lightweight Meilenstein Clinchers (Proclaimed Black/Schwarz ed). But when I look through the pictures I get in doubt if it indeed is a set of Meilensteins? I haven't seen fake Lightweights before and I don't think they exist really, so my concerns are if it is maybe a Gen 3 wheelset with new decals or something like that? I think the Meilenstein logo's look a little off and the small 'Lightweight' logo that is supposed to be opposite of the Meilenstein logo is not there?

Anyone with knowledge on the topic? Please share :)

/Byskov
Attachments
LW1.jpg
LW2.jpg
LW3.jpg
LW4.jpg
LW5.jpg

L3X

by L3X

I'm by no means an expert, so I'm sure there are more knowledgeable people here, nevertheless my 2 cents:
1. 'Meilenstein' decal here looks a bit off, that's not what I see on the lightweight website https://lightweight.info/ca/en/meilenstein-schwarz
2. Schwarz edition has 'Leightweight' painted on in black text, that's missing here
3. Decal on the hub is black text on a white background, compared to the website it should be white text on a black background

Again I'm no expert here but comparing to lightweights website I'd have enough reason to be worried. At least ask the seller for the 10 digit number that should come with the wheels and then give Lightweight a call to verify if the number matches the seller's description, check what the history (if any) is on these wheels etc.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

parajba

by parajba

Call LW I am sure they will be able to confirm on the phone if they are legit...

Byskov

by Byskov