Is it time to just ride?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

RocketRacing

by RocketRacing

This is a bit of a tongue and cheek question, but i am getting bored.

I started cycling for fitness, but got deeper into it around tech, Aero, design, data analysis, etc. I read a lot, tried a lot, learned a lot.

I am no expert, but i kind of feel i have learned what i can to engineer/buy performance (free speed).

Now i just feel it is up to me to ride and keep getting stronger. And that is ok, because that is what i enjoy most... but... the bike nerd in me is a bit sad. The learning part of the hobby is dying a bit... or is at least out of the “everything is new and awesome, look at this cool data” honeymoon phase.

I think i may need to accelerate my “aero weenie” bike project. But then, after researching what i need to achieve my optimal performance balance... buying and riding the bike is almost secondary. The fun was already completed in my head.

Maybe i have ”leveled up” to focus less on the bike, and more on the ride. That is probably a good thing.

Maybe my upgrades made my bike 10-15% faster than when i bought it. My training in the last 2.5mths has made my ftp go up 23%.

wheelbuilder

by wheelbuilder

I'm a traditional road bike style guy, and my bike has been upgraded to the point where no more upgrades appeal to me nor make any sense. Short of buying exotic WW parts, which I am not really into (but enjoy building customer's bikes with them), My bike is about as expensive as it can get, and I have been completely satisfied with it for over 2 years now. I get excitement from fitness goals, getting stronger, increasing weekly totals, and the experience of riding solo and with fast groups. I know what you are saying, and probably most here do as well, but for me, once I achieved what I wanted bike-wise, I can now happily enjoy riding it.
Never cheer before you know who is winning

by Weenie