Page 4 of 4

Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:27 pm
by Lewn777
wheelsONfire wrote: โ†‘
Fri Apr 05, 2019 12:44 pm
For me a GPS is like this. I pin down an address, i am at A and wish to go to B.
I ride towards B, but decide i want to go straight forwards when the GPS says, go left.
If i keep insisting on going forward, the GPS should reroute me another way if it notice i am quite far off.

I have zero interest of fiddling with my phone or download routes that i have made myself, and obviously am forced to integrate into the GPS.
That's not how i see a GPS.

To me it seems neither Edge 520 Plus or any Bryton unit works like this?
Is this a correct assumption?
If it is, they both have proved one thing!
They are not working they way i really buy a GPS for.
So, i have no use for them.
Sounds like you'd be better off buying a $100 Android phone attaching it to your bars and running Maps.me!
Cycle GPS computers are for tracking your ride distance, power and alitiude gain (mostly) and uploading that to Strava. For that I'd buy a Garmin 130, 520 plus or Wahoo Element.

Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:27 pm
by Weenie

Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2019 3:54 pm
by fxx
wheelsONfire wrote:Got my Aero 60T today. Also got Bryton online, today.
These units doesn't have reroute feature and they will not have by update.
You can't pin down an address expecting the GPS will lead you. So i sent mine in return right away.
Perhaps Mio is a better choice or just skip it. Hm.....
You can pin down an address on the phone app, edit it and upload it to your head unit.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk


Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Tue Apr 09, 2019 6:37 pm
by wheelsONfire
The idea for me, was to have the ability to leave the phone and just use the GPS. I have no hurry, so perhaps i should wait.
I'm not interested in using Strava or anything like that.

BTW, that Edge 130 isn't so cheap if you add cadence and HR to the unit.

Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 8:19 am
by wheelsONfire
It seem Bryton Aero 60T and Garmin Edge 130 HR + smart cadence/ speed sensor is similar?
Not sure which combo is the better of these two?
Mio Cyclo 650HC cost same as Edge 520 plus bundle.
Not sure which is best option here either?
Cyclo 650(HC) seems to have a better GPS function?

Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Sat May 04, 2019 5:29 pm
by wheelsONfire
Wahoo Element Roam or Garmin Edge 530?

Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 6:15 am
by ducman
530 or 830, that's the question. ๐Ÿ˜

Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 11:50 am
by Sammutd88
ducman wrote: โ†‘
Mon May 06, 2019 6:15 am
530 or 830, that's the question. ๐Ÿ˜
530. Never trust a Garmin touchscreen. After buying the 820, even though the 830 is supposed to be better, Iโ€™d stick to buttons.

Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 2:07 pm
by SilentDrone
The touchscreen on the 1030 works well. I expect the 830 is dialed in. But Iโ€™d still go for the 530 bc itโ€™s the better value and the buttons are easy.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 2:12 pm
by dim
Sammutd88 wrote: โ†‘
Mon May 06, 2019 11:50 am
ducman wrote: โ†‘
Mon May 06, 2019 6:15 am
530 or 830, that's the question. ๐Ÿ˜
530. Never trust a Garmin touchscreen. After buying the 820, even though the 830 is supposed to be better, Iโ€™d stick to buttons.
I've got the Edge 1000 .... been using it daily for 4 years ...never had a problem .... I also use the remote which is brilliant:

Image

Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 6:43 pm
by wheelsONfire
I like the looks of Roam. I have an inbuilt "no, i don't want to" when it comes to Garmin. Don't ask me why as i can't answer this!
With that said, i returned my Bryton Aero 60T and ordered Edge 130. Actually, i'm not sure it was the best move!?
My unit haven't arrived yet + i have a sever issue with my knee, so i doubt i will have a chance to try it this season.

Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 7:22 pm
by SilentDrone
I didnโ€™t know there was a remote. Cool. Can it be mounted inconspicuously?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 7:26 pm
by dim
SilentDrone wrote: โ†‘
Mon May 06, 2019 7:22 pm
I didnโ€™t know there was a remote. Cool. Can it be mounted inconspicuously?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You can mount it on the drops .... IMHO it's a 'must have' :thumbup:

Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 4:33 am
by sfo423
Reading through the thread. I figured all I want to see is:
time of day
speed
hr
cadence
altitude
elevation gain
elapsed time
background gps so I can measure time of climbs, certain ride segments, etc.

Looking at bolt, edge 130 and Briton 310.

Which is the go to unit? Iโ€™d like it out front if it matters (attached to stem bolts) unless the modern bar clamps do not scar a carbon bar.

Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 5:58 am
by robertbb
I'd like to see Garmin release an Edge 300 series, which would be an Edge 130 with power metrics (L/R Balance, 3s power, NP, IF, TSS, etc.) and a refined training interface/page, which auto-estimates your FTP from your MMP curve and scales workouts (like what Golden Cheetah and the new Stages units do).

No Strava, or lights, or other whizbang features... and basic breadcrumb maps (if even that).

A true successor to the Edge 500. I reckon they'd sell like crazy.

Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 5:58 am
by Weenie

Re: Garmin or Bryton??

Posted: Tue Jun 18, 2019 7:56 am
by wheelsONfire
I bought Edge 130. Don't really like how it the screen info changes between data. I'd rather have the data on screen all time.