Switching from carbon to aluminum - thoughts and opinions welcome

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

ToughInTheStreets

by ToughInTheStreets

Does anyone have any experience switching from high end carbon road bikes to an aluminum frame road bike? I have a Focus Izalco Max Disc and have been tossing the idea around to pick up an Allez Sprint Disc frameset.

Am I crazy? I have plenty of experience on both materials and truly enjoy my Focus as it is now, but as it seems, the new bike itch is back.

Current specs if that is relevant:
2017 Focus Izalco Max Disc
SRAM Red eTap
Fizik Cyrano 00 Handlebar
Fizik Cyrano 00 Seatpost
Fizik R1 Stem

More than likely, all parts would be swapped over to the new frameset except the seat post of course. I guess I would classify my riding style as hard and fast paced. Lots of solo intervals and sprints, weekend A group, occasional crit.

I crashed last year and handlebar strike on the top tube left a bit of a disconcerting mark and really bummed me out. i know this can happen to aluminum as well, but I have crashed tons in the past on my aluminum framed bikes with nothing more than a few scuffs to the paint.

So, if I'm not alone on this venture, I'd love to hear from others that have switched. Good or bad.

3Pio

by 3Pio

ToughInTheStreets wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 11:26 pm
Does anyone have any experience switching from high end carbon road bikes to an aluminum frame road bike? I have a Focus Izalco Max Disc and have been tossing the idea around to pick up an Allez Sprint Disc frameset.

Am I crazy? I have plenty of experience on both materials and truly enjoy my Focus as it is now, but as it seems, the new bike itch is back.

Current specs if that is relevant:
2017 Focus Izalco Max Disc
SRAM Red eTap
Fizik Cyrano 00 Handlebar
Fizik Cyrano 00 Seatpost
Fizik R1 Stem