Cockpit Mount by CarbonWorks (Garmin, Wahoo, Sigma)

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
User avatar
CarbonWorks
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2019 12:03 pm

by CarbonWorks

Hi :D
I have asked myself, if a Cockpit Mount (for Garmin, Wahoo, Sigma) also needs to carry a light or other parts like a GoPro?
What do you think? Do you need adapters for these components or not?
In my opinion it is not necessary, but maybe I am wrong!

Furthermore I think of inventing a new holder which is strong enough to use it as aerobar.
What do you think of this idea?

Thank you very much,
Simon

Image
Simon
carbonworks.de

by Weenie


ArtV
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 3:23 am

by ArtV

Yes, the stem GPS mount should be able to carry a GPS on top and a light/gopro on the underside.

No input on the aerobar idea.

mcfarton
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2018 5:15 pm

by mcfarton

I mount a light under my Garmin via a go pro mount


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
dgasmd
Posts: 1746
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 5:10 am
Location: South Florida

by dgasmd

For myself, the computer mount in its lightest form is all that is needed. I always see people with all kind of gadgetry cluttering and weighting down bikes, but they are also the same people riding super aero frames, disc brakes, and super deep wheel sets while doing 16 mph in the flats!

Your design looks good, but brings questions in my mind:

1. If I had Ti bolts in my stem, this design would kill using the bottom 2, which defeats the purpose.
2. Where would one put the bottom 2 screws to hold the face plate and be able to torque it correctly?
3. I frankly think most of these mounts in the market (way too many already) are simply overweight and overdone in terms of what really is required to hold a tiny computer that weights hardly anything!
4. Lastly, why not make the entire thing from carbon fiber?

trimenc
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:39 am
Location: North Carolina

by trimenc

Simon,

I would personally LOVE to be able to mount my GPS on top and my Cycliq light underneath. I have multiple MCFK stems and cannot use your mount....sadly.

As far as the aerobar situation...ABSOLUTELY.

liam7020
Posts: 1001
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:04 am

by liam7020

dgasmd wrote:
Sat Jan 19, 2019 10:59 pm
I always see people with all kind of gadgetry cluttering and weighting down bikes, but they are also the same people riding super aero frames, disc brakes, and super deep wheel sets while doing 16 mph in the flats!
This is so true, hit the nail right on the head!
dgasmd wrote:
Sat Jan 19, 2019 10:59 pm
2. Where would one put the bottom 2 screws to hold the face plate and be able to torque it correctly?
I've been looking at the F3 Form Mount which is very similar in design and was wondering that question too. Would it be possible to fit an extension between the socket and the torque wrench or would that bias the reading?
Tarmac SL6 & Campag Record EPS https://weightweenies.starbike.com/foru ... 0&t=153968

"Sometimes you don't need a plan. You just need big balls." Tom Boonen

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post