Di2 users

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
markyboy
Posts: 801
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:22 pm
Location: Bristol uk

by markyboy

I am new to dura ace di2 and just finding my way around with the e tube etc,my question is that is it normal in manual mode that when in the small chainring
you cant change all the way down the cog to the smallest sprocket.
It wont let me it stops a couple short.
Colnago master with campagnolo super record 12
Pinarello f8 with dura ace di2
Eddy merckx 69 ultegra disc winter bike ultegra r8000

WILLIAMDENYS
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 5:06 pm

by WILLIAMDENYS

Youre having the 9150 dura ace?
With the 9150 DA and 8050 ULT there is something on there where if youre in the inner chainring you cant ride in the last two cogs.


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
- ridley fenix sl 105 - not lightweight
- sworks tarmac sl 5 r8050 di2 - vision tc 24 wheels = 7,1kg

by Weenie


markyboy
Posts: 801
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:22 pm
Location: Bristol uk

by markyboy

Yes just installed 9150 and like i said it wont go into the last 2 cogs in the small ring.
Colnago master with campagnolo super record 12
Pinarello f8 with dura ace di2
Eddy merckx 69 ultegra disc winter bike ultegra r8000

WILLIAMDENYS
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 5:06 pm

by WILLIAMDENYS

Yes i think its just normal , i have 8050 and i have the same like you. I actually like it because if you use the last two cogs the chain rubs against the outer chainring.


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
- ridley fenix sl 105 - not lightweight
- sworks tarmac sl 5 r8050 di2 - vision tc 24 wheels = 7,1kg

markyboy
Posts: 801
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:22 pm
Location: Bristol uk

by markyboy

Yes thats right i would not use those 2 gears anyway but just wondered.
All i have to do now is find my way around the app.
What i need to do is see if i can use the buttons on the top of the shifters if they exist.
Colnago master with campagnolo super record 12
Pinarello f8 with dura ace di2
Eddy merckx 69 ultegra disc winter bike ultegra r8000

WILLIAMDENYS
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 5:06 pm

by WILLIAMDENYS

Yes if you plug in your bike you use the app with controls. Then you can choose between contoller X Y and the other one are the top buttons which you can setup to shift up down rear and front.


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
- ridley fenix sl 105 - not lightweight
- sworks tarmac sl 5 r8050 di2 - vision tc 24 wheels = 7,1kg

markyboy
Posts: 801
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:22 pm
Location: Bristol uk

by markyboy

Ok thanks,what i might do is see if i can toggle between screens on my wahoo with the top buttons hopefully, but just need to try and sort it out.
Colnago master with campagnolo super record 12
Pinarello f8 with dura ace di2
Eddy merckx 69 ultegra disc winter bike ultegra r8000

TheDoctor
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:56 pm

by TheDoctor

markyboy wrote:
Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:58 pm
Ok thanks,what i might do is see if i can toggle between screens on my wahoo with the top buttons hopefully, but just need to try and sort it out.
I'm controlling my Wahoo Elemnt Bolt with the top buttons, easy to set up. You do need a Shimano D-Fly unit (EW-WU111A) though, for the wireless communication between the Di2 system and the Wahoo.
Info on the set-up and functionality here:
https://wahoofitness.yonyx.com/y/conver ... 764e11d2f4
Scott Addict Premium Disc
Argon 18 Nitrogen
Specialized Tarmac SL4 Pro
Canyon Exceed CF SLX 8.0

ParisCarbon
Posts: 1386
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 5:39 am
Location: Winnipeg Canada

by ParisCarbon

What are your front chainrings... My CX bike has Ultegra Di2 with a 46/36 setup.. If I remember correctly we went in the etube software and set the front rings to be 53/39 and not the 46/36 combo and it allows the bottom 2 cogs on the small ring...

beanbiken
Posts: 707
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:13 pm
Location: Great Southern Land

by beanbiken

ParisCarbon wrote:
Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:15 am
What are your front chainrings... If I remember correctly we went in the etube software and set the front rings to be 53/39 and not the 46/36 combo and it allows the bottom 2 cogs on the small ring...
^^^^ yes this, in etube set front CRs to 53/39 if you want to use the last two sprockets with your small CR..... which technically is less than optimal anyway.

BB
BB

Coffee & carbon

arty118
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 6:55 am

by arty118

The new firmware will not allow the RD to shift to 2 lowest sprockets while you are in the small chainring if the chainring difference are greater than 14 (52/36 or 50/34) You can go around this by set your chainring as 53/39 in the e-tube app. I have 50/34 chainring with 53/39 setting in the e-tube app and I can shift to lowest sprocket without problems.

avispa
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 2:36 am

by avispa

markyboy wrote:
Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:34 pm
I am new to dura ace di2 and just finding my way around with the e tube etc,my question is that is it normal in manual mode that when in the small chainring
you cant change all the way down the cog to the smallest sprocket.
It wont let me it stops a couple short.
If you dissable syncho shift (by using full manual mode) and choose no-limit for the number or cogs you will switch while pressing the X or Y switches, then you are good to go. The latest firmware has nothing to do with this. In manual mode, the rider is in full control of the gears. I saw how most Team Sky bikes were set-up and they were all in manual mode; I guess racers at that level do not like surprises with the gears.

In my Di2 9150 and 8000 setups, I can just hold the switches and the chain will go up or down the cassette with no problem. One thing you have to be aware is that you must switch the front derailleur accordingly as it will not put your chain in the big or small rings, no matter what cog you are in the back.

I included a pic of my setup from the e-tube app for reference. Also, you can set the shifting to manual mode by pressing the buttons on your junction boxes from M, S1 and S2.
A solid light that stays on for 2 secs on the junction box will indicate you are in manual mode.
Attachments
MANUAL.png
IMG_0202.png
IMG_0201.png
Last edited by avispa on Thu Dec 20, 2018 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

markyboy
Posts: 801
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:22 pm
Location: Bristol uk

by markyboy

TheDoctor wrote:
Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:30 pm
markyboy wrote:
Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:58 pm
Ok thanks,what i might do is see if i can toggle between screens on my wahoo with the top buttons hopefully, but just need to try and sort it out.
I'm controlling my Wahoo Elemnt Bolt with the top buttons, easy to set up. You do need a Shimano D-Fly unit (EW-WU111A) though, for the wireless communication between the Di2 system and the Wahoo.
Info on the set-up and functionality here:
https://wahoofitness.yonyx.com/y/conver ... 764e11d2f4
Ah great,i have the ew-wu111 which i thought was the right one.
Colnago master with campagnolo super record 12
Pinarello f8 with dura ace di2
Eddy merckx 69 ultegra disc winter bike ultegra r8000

markyboy
Posts: 801
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:22 pm
Location: Bristol uk

by markyboy

ParisCarbon wrote:
Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:15 am
What are your front chainrings... My CX bike has Ultegra Di2 with a 46/36 setup.. If I remember correctly we went in the etube software and set the front rings to be 53/39 and not the 46/36 combo and it allows the bottom 2 cogs on the small ring...
52/36 but i will look at changing it.
Colnago master with campagnolo super record 12
Pinarello f8 with dura ace di2
Eddy merckx 69 ultegra disc winter bike ultegra r8000

by Weenie


markyboy
Posts: 801
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:22 pm
Location: Bristol uk

by markyboy

Thanks guys great help,its all very tech for me but i am slowly getting there :D
Colnago master with campagnolo super record 12
Pinarello f8 with dura ace di2
Eddy merckx 69 ultegra disc winter bike ultegra r8000

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post