Handlebar height and comfort

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

sparklywheels

by sparklywheels

Has anyone found a lower handlebar more comfortable, even when the bars are already quite low(12-14cm drop). I’ve noticed that lowering the bars makes the drops more comfortable but the hoods less so and vice versa. Specifically, I’ve found it easier to shift more weight onto the pedals when the handlebar is the perfect height. Raising it from there seems to increase hand pressure somehow. Could there be something else wrong with my fit perhaps, or is this typical?
Last edited by sparklywheels on Wed Dec 12, 2018 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

RocketRacing

by RocketRacing

As i have dropped my front end, i have been no less comfortable. But i am no fit pro.

It makes sense to me that a lower front also puts more weight on the pedals. Maybe less of your weight is being supported by your saddle, and more by your legs/arms. That may not actually be ideal for energy conservation/efficiency.

But again, i am no expert.

joeyb1000

by joeyb1000

Yes. Mine is "slammed", and I use Deda Deep bars. If I try to raise it, my back gets sore on longer rides. (FYI, I'm 59, but have been racing for a long time).

But, everybody is different.

osw000

by osw000

Bike fitting is holding too much balls in the air. You cannot simply play with one factor.

In my experience lowering handle bar can be felt "nicer" when your reach is properly set up, your body weight well balanced (fore-aft saddle position) and you are able to rotate your pelvis (you're flexible and have the right saddle)