Page 1 of 1

Rotor 3D+ w/ Power2Max on a SRAM PF30 BB?

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 6:59 pm
by floriansantana
Good evening,

I want to install a Rotor 3D+ crankset with Power2Max powermeter on a bike with a SRAM PF30 bottom bracket. According to the manual on the Rotor website and the manual that actually came with the crankset, the PF30 bottom bracket is compatible with the crankset. It says that I have to use a 11,5mm spacer on both sides and on the non-drivetrain side i also have to use a 0,5mm washer between the preload adjuster and the aformentioned 11,5mm spacer.

The problem is, that when I use this setup and tighten the bolt on the drivetrain side to the suggested 35-40nM it seems that the crankset is too tight and won't move as freely as I want it to. The preload adjuster is completely open (i.e. out on the crankarm) and even if I remove the 0,5mm washer it's almost the same. I have the feeling, that I can't tighten it to more than 6-8nM without it getting kind of stuck. If I tighten the crankset only this firmly, it starts to creak though.

Can anyone help me out. Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks in advance.

Re: Rotor 3D+ w/ Power2Max on a SRAM PF30 BB?

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 7:03 pm
by morganb
floriansantana wrote:
Wed Nov 21, 2018 6:59 pm
Good evening,

I want to install a Rotor 3D+ crankset with Power2Max powermeter on a bike with a SRAM PF30 bottom bracket. According to the manual on the Rotor website and the manual that actually came with the crankset, the PF30 bottom bracket is compatible with the crankset. It says that I have to use a 11,5mm spacer on both sides and on the non-drivetrain side i also have to use a 0,5mm washer between the preload adjuster and the aformentioned 11,5mm spacer.

The problem is, that when I use this setup and tighten the bolt on the drivetrain side to the suggested 35-40nM it seems that the crankset is too tight and won't move as freely as I want it to. The preload adjuster is completely open (i.e. out on the crankarm) and even if I remove the 0,5mm washer it's almost the same. I have the feeling, that I can't tighten it to more than 6-8nM without it getting kind of stuck. If I tighten the crankset only this firmly, it starts to creak though.

Can anyone help me out. Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks in advance.
You may need thinner bearing shields. I had to ditch the 0.5 mm spacer and go to a thin bearing shield on both sides to prevent mine from binding.

Re: Rotor 3D+ w/ Power2Max on a SRAM PF30 BB?

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 7:03 pm
by Weenie

Re: Rotor 3D+ w/ Power2Max on a SRAM PF30 BB?

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 8:39 pm
by 1415chris
Or simply file a bit one of the aluminium spacers.
I did it on the drive side to improve chainline on my bb-right frame.

Re: Rotor 3D+ w/ Power2Max on a SRAM PF30 BB?

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:16 pm
by jfranci3

Re: Rotor 3D+ w/ Power2Max on a SRAM PF30 BB?

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 11:13 pm
by floriansantana
So you mean, that I buy a spacer with 10mm and exchange one of the 11,5mm with it to win 1,5mm? That could work, thanks!

Re: Rotor 3D+ w/ Power2Max on a SRAM PF30 BB?

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 11:13 pm
by Weenie

Re: Rotor 3D+ w/ Power2Max on a SRAM PF30 BB?

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 12:29 am
by jfranci3
Specifically the nondrive side.