Stages power meter repair help

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
User avatar
onemanpeloton
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 11:30 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

by onemanpeloton

Hi guys

Picking your brains here because my gen 1 stages 9000 crank arm is out of warranty and stages only want to sell me a new one.

Basically the power meter over reads power massively. Apparently my 40 min commute has avr power of 1000w and max of 2000w. This should be closer to 200 and 1000 most days.

The stages unit has a small crack in it which i assume has let some water in. Normally i would write it off in this situation but the power readings are consistent albeit wrong.

Any suggestions? Thanks
2017 Giant TCR Disc
2015 Giant TCX
2016 Cube Stereo 140

by Weenie


bikeboy1tr
Posts: 346
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 3:19 am
Location: Southern Ontario Canada

by bikeboy1tr

I assume you have been doing the Stages updates whenever they come out. If I get caught in the rain I usually remove the arm and pull the battery and then store it in a bag of rice. I know with mine if I get it wet it eats batteries up at an alarming rate.
"Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving"-Albert Einstein
2018 Colnago V2R Rim Brake
2014 Norco Threshold Disc Brake
2012 Time RXRS Ulteam Rim Brake
2008 Time VXR Rim Brake
2006 Ridley Crosswind Rim Brake

bilwit
Posts: 1153
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 5:49 am
Location: Seattle, WA

by bilwit

onemanpeloton wrote: ↑
Mon Nov 05, 2018 11:11 pm
The stages unit has a small crack in it which i assume has let some water in.
sounds toast to me. If the readings are consistent as you say, doesn't the phone app let you specify a manual offset?

NiFTY
Posts: 1302
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 11:26 pm

by NiFTY

It sounds cooked.
Evo 4.9kg SL3 6.64kg Slice RS 8.89kg viewtopic.php?f=10&t=110579" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

alcatraz
Posts: 1953
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 11:19 am

by alcatraz

Doesn't sound good. Did you redo the calibration in your stages app and garmin to be sure?

To keep moisture away you need to put a piece of plastic over the whole power meter and then wrap electrical tape over it all. Change the battery before you do.

/a

User avatar
FIJIGabe
Posts: 1813
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:07 pm
Location: The Lone Star State

by FIJIGabe

I sent one back, recently, and they replaced the PM on my crank arm for $200, and now I have a warranty on that unit. Just a thought.
Madone 9 https://goo.gl/7UwZpV
Emonda SLR https://bit.ly/2UK5FP8

Crockett, Madone 5, Cobia. I own a lot of Treks.

User avatar
onemanpeloton
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 11:30 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

by onemanpeloton

thanks for all the replies.

I admit it doesnt look hopeful but I still thought that, given its consistency, it might be salvageable.

I've updated the firmware and done a zero offset a few times, nothing changes.

im in the UK. I contacted stages who put me in touch with the UK distributor and they said they wouldnt replace the PM on my crank even if I paid for it. Shame really.
2017 Giant TCR Disc
2015 Giant TCX
2016 Cube Stereo 140

User avatar
FIJIGabe
Posts: 1813
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:07 pm
Location: The Lone Star State

by FIJIGabe

That sucks. Sorry to hear that the local distributor would do that. You don't happen to have any relatives in the US, do you?
Madone 9 https://goo.gl/7UwZpV
Emonda SLR https://bit.ly/2UK5FP8

Crockett, Madone 5, Cobia. I own a lot of Treks.

User avatar
onemanpeloton
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 11:30 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

by onemanpeloton

sadly not! it's a shame that the distributor wont help, given that stages offer this service.

may I ask how much you paid to have yours fixed? if its cheap enough then maybe i can find a US friend!
2017 Giant TCR Disc
2015 Giant TCX
2016 Cube Stereo 140

User avatar
FIJIGabe
Posts: 1813
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:07 pm
Location: The Lone Star State

by FIJIGabe

It was $200 for the repair, plus shipping to them (they covered ground shipping back to me).
Madone 9 https://goo.gl/7UwZpV
Emonda SLR https://bit.ly/2UK5FP8

Crockett, Madone 5, Cobia. I own a lot of Treks.

2lo8
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:32 am

by 2lo8

onemanpeloton wrote: ↑
Mon Nov 05, 2018 11:11 pm
Picking your brains here because my gen 1 stages 9000 crank arm is out of warranty and stages only want to sell me a new one.
That seems about right for Stages customer service. Even when it came to known design flaws on the gen 1s, they would claim there was nothing wrong with the design because it lasted the life of the product, meaning the duration of the warranty period.
[6.6kg of no carbon fiber]
[2lo8.wordpress.com]
Your one-stop source for information and reviews on cheap eBay bike junk.

User avatar
onemanpeloton
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 11:30 am
Location: Edinburgh, UK

by onemanpeloton

For anyone else looking for a fix, I managed to get it fixed! Many thanks to user alanmclean

When I went in to the tools page in the android stages app, my crank length was listed as 862. Turns out this number was what was causing the massive power readings.

Here's how to fix it:

You need to connect to the crank with Stages app on an Android phone.
Then <Tools page. (I presume you can see your crank length is wrong on this page)
Then swipe left to right four times and you should be able select correct crack length from a drop down menu at bottom of page
You'll need to ensure firmware is up to date.
2017 Giant TCR Disc
2015 Giant TCX
2016 Cube Stereo 140

by Weenie


User avatar
FIJIGabe
Posts: 1813
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:07 pm
Location: The Lone Star State

by FIJIGabe

Thanks for posting the answer. I'm surprised that this fix is only available on Android, and not on iOS.
Madone 9 https://goo.gl/7UwZpV
Emonda SLR https://bit.ly/2UK5FP8

Crockett, Madone 5, Cobia. I own a lot of Treks.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post